Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Let The World Wide Web Be Your Personal Trainer

One last post on saving money while getting healthy.  Not because there aren’t soo many more frugal ways we could talk about, but I’m ready to start talking about other things.  No worries. My intention is to keep everything I post simple, affordable, time efficient, and realistic.  For this post I wanted to show you that you can get free fitness training in your own home.  In this day and age, there are very few things you can’t find on the internet.  There are videos and web pages for anything and everything.  Lucky for us, fitness is no exception.  I looked to real people for their real favorites.
I Chased Real People For Their Real Favorites

Yep , I went out and asked people, “Hey y’all, I’m doing a little research for my blog www.mireillesjourneytohealth.com and would appreciate your input. Any of y’all have some favorite, free, YouTube workout videos you recommend? Trying to show that your financial situation doesn’t have to hold you back. What do y’all think?”  Here are the responses I got:

http://www.popsugar.com  “Pop Sugar website has free online workout videos.” – B.N.

www.fitnessblender.com  “Great question and it’s true, you can have a great effective workout for free, without equipment. As a personal trainer myself I’ve spent considerable time watching different free sites. I look for quality, content, certifications, safety, and great posture both in demonstration and in their cues. My favorite site to recommend to people looking to workout at home is www.fitnessblender.com They have recently updated their website to make it very user friendly. You can pick your own workouts and set them to your own calendar. The variety in time and intensity, and fitness level is all availalble. This is all free. You can also spend a very nominal amount, I think it’s under $10 and have preprogrammed workouts for you. They basically go through all their workouts and help you pick out a well rounded balanced workout. As a note: I have absolutlely no affiliation with Fitness Blender whatsoever. I just like what they do and approve of the help they give people with quality content. Also, so many fitness sites are oversexed with people underdressed etc. This is no nonsense, husband and wife cutie patootie couple just doing what they love and helping people.” – J.B.W.C.

http://www.tristarproductsinc.com  “I’m a big fan of the Rack – I have one (I do go to the gym too but this thing is awesome). It’s an all in one workout at-home-gym for like 100 bucks. I use it all the time. The Rack combines 10 workout machines into one.” – L.J.

http://youtu.be/WRo3_p_V79c  “I have a gym membership but there are a lot of days I use youtube for Yoga. I’ve never been to a class and do not want to pay or embarrass myself. I also have added a few area specific workouts to my Pinterest board. I find her series to be easy to follow and not at all intimidating.” – T.P.P

https://m.facebook.com/BikiniBodyMommy “The Bikini Body Mommy Challenge is great and completely free!” – S.F.

www.grokker.com  “The best Yoga, Fitness, and Cooking video classes taught.” – K.D-S.

http://www.emilyskye.com/ Look at Emily Skye.” – J.R.

www.youtube.com/user/brettcap  I like Brett Cap. I just started watching his videos and he’s very informative. Easy on the eyes too.” – S.D.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5nyrD4eM64  “Hey Mimi! You are amazing, I love your blog and inspiration. We like anything Jillian Michaels, especially her yoga.” – A.B.

Thank You All For Your Input!

I appreciate all of the input.  These are great suggestions!  I want to add a personal favorite to this list.  I love Yoga With Adriene!  I’ve mentioned her before.  She has an entire YouTube channel, https://www.yogawithadriene.com  She makes you feel comfortable at whatever level you might be.  She has routines for every possible scenario you can imagine.  I rarely, if ever, do workouts other than yoga with youtube videos.  However, I really, really love YouTube for yoga.

Find Your Favorite And Share It With Us

There are so, so many free workouts available online.  I’m not suggesting you have to love one of these videos.  These people found workouts online, and if you look around, you can, too.  When I found Yoga With Adriene, I’d never done yoga before.  I searched YouTube for beginner’s yoga.  I found one of her videos, and I was hooked.  I now do yoga 2-3 times each week. Go to YouTube and search for the type of workout you think you’d like.  You might search for kickboxing, zumba, weightlifting, pilates, or HIIT.  Anything and everything is available.  If the first video you find isn’t your thing, try a different one.  There are so many!  I would encourage you, that if you already have a workout online that you love, or once you find one, to post it in the comments.  Thank you  in advance for sharing your workouts with us!

12 comments on “Let The World Wide Web Be Your Personal Trainer

  1. Donna
    March 5, 2015

    Very helpful

    Like

  2. Deirdra Storm Hepler
    March 5, 2015

    This is wonderful! I just dropped my gym membership and this is perfect for me…now I am going to go check some of these links. Thank you!

    Like

  3. rxforwellness
    March 10, 2015

    I still have a gym membership, but feel lost in the free weight section. Not so much on form etc (I’ve had some training), but more so on putting together a program. Could you do something like this for free weight training programs?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Relish
    March 11, 2015

    Very helpful info, thank you! Have you come across to any good sites for exercising for people with back problems?

    Like

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      March 11, 2015

      Not necessarily a site specifically for it. Also, back problems, is really broad and so different workouts might be appropriate for different people. Definitely don’t lift heavy if you feel pain in your back. Some people need to stick to body weight. I posted a total body isometric workout today under workouts. Also, you may like the resistance band workout I have posted. Let me know if that works. I can put together some other workouts for you. I do recommend yoga to help strengthen your back, as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Relish
        March 11, 2015

        Thank you so much! I will check it all out. For the yoga, is Hatha Yoga the most gentle one? I really want to do yoga or pilates, but just want to be cautious. Thanks again!

        Like

      • mireillesjourneytohealth
        March 11, 2015

        You know, for the yoga, click on the yoga with adriene link on the “Let The World Wide Web Be Your Personal Trainer.” She has a yoga routine for everything. She has gentle beginner routines, and even routines specifically for your back. You wont regret it. She is the best yoga source I have found!

        Like

      • Relish
        March 11, 2015

        Yes, I will definitely will do that. So happy I found your blog.

        Liked by 1 person

      • mireillesjourneytohealth
        March 11, 2015

        Oh Thank you! That means so much! Let me know if you have suggestions or requests for specific posts, workouts, and/or recipes!

        Like

  5. Relish
    March 12, 2015

    I sure will 🙂 Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2015 by in Fitness, Save Money - Be Healthy and tagged , , .
