Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Healthy Habits – A Never Ending Work In Progress

“We become what we repeatedly do.”
Sean Covey, The 7 Habits Of Highly Effective Teens

I do my best thinking in bed.  I lay down, and my mind wakes up.  I lay there and think of so much.  I get the most brilliant ideas.  I always say I should write them down, but I don’t.  I try to lay there and let my mind run it’s course rather than encourage it by taking notes.

bed

Early to bed and early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise.
Benjamin Franklin

Last night, as I lay there, I was reflecting on my blog.  While there are a few more healthy habits I intend to cover, I wanted to take a break for this one post and show you that I’m not just a blogging robot.  That I have worked hard to form healthy habits, and still have more work to do.  I want to share with you some of the healthy habits that I have worked hard at, that I did not always have.  I also want to share some habits I’m still trying to develop.

  1. I always bring healthy snacks. Everywhere.  This keeps me on track AND saves me money!

    packed snacks

    If you fail to plan, you plan to fail. Always pack a healthy snack.

  2. I always carry a water bottle and keep it filled up.  I actually lose my mind without it.
  3. I go to bed early enough to allow 8-9 hours of sleep each night. I’m still working on falling asleep, but it’s started.
  4. I smile and push through days where I am just dragging.  They come. Sometimes, they last all week. Sometimes longer.  I just remind myself that if I stay on track, I’ll get through.
  5. I workout consistently (for me that’s 5-7 days each week). Sometimes I’m tired, but I know skipping workouts leaves me feeling like I failed myself, so I do it, and I always end up feeling good.
  6. I never skip Monday’s workout. To me, a strong Monday leads to a better week.
  7. I’ve learned not to oversleep. I feel best with 8-9 hours of sleep. No more. No less.
  8. I have found balance in frugal and wholesome grocery shopping.
  9. I stretch through the yoga practices I’ve started.
  10. I’ve developed flexibility through the yoga practices, as well.
  11. I cook 90% of my own food. I like knowing what’s in my food, so I take the time to prepare my food myself.  It saves me money, too.
  12. I’ve learned to bake without wheat flour or processed sugar.  I quit buying them all together.
  13. I bake treats with whole foods, including lots of fruits and vegetables.

    baking sweet potato chips

    Who doesn’t love homemade sweet potato chips?!

  14. I do fat-burning cardio regularly.
  15. I weight train regularly.
  16. I’ve learned not to let myself get down if the results I want are slow-coming.
  17. I’ve learned to want more for my body than a pretty image.
  18. I eat to aid my body’s digestion regardless of how people around me choose to eat.
  19. I buy quality running shoes.
  20. I’m mindful of the food I’m eating.
  21. I get outside during the day, everyday.
  22. I’ve learned to let loose from time to time and then get back on track.
  23. I follow a ton of healthy living sites on social media. They keep me motivated to stay on track.
  24. I make my bed everyday.  It helps me get going each day.
  25. I’ve learned to share my feelings with close friends and family, and ask for support.

So, I’ve learned to do all of these things, and I assure you I have made them habits.  I have a lot of habits I’m still working on.  I am working on having a habitual rest day.  A day I don’t workout.  Even though some days I’m tired, I feel bad about myself if I don’t workout.  I’m working on not nit-picking when I look in the mirror.  I think I have some form of body dysmorphic disorder.  Pretty sure.  But I’ve come really far, and I’m continuing to work on it.  I’m continuously trying to improve upon my sleep.  As necessary as sleep is for the body, and as hard as I try to get adequate sleep, I am struggling.  Like I said, that’s where my brain feels most alive and energized.  I’m working to be a better recycler. I’m also  working to use less chemicals and more natural products.  Our environment and the health of our bodies are deeply connected.

As you can see, I’ve accomplished a lot.  I’m also aware of how much more I could accomplish as I continue on this journey to healthier living.  And it doesn’t end there.  This journey goes on.  We should always strive to be the best healthiest versions of ourselves.  We each only get one body.  If we take proper care of our bodies, then they’ll do all they can to take proper care of us.

7 comments on “Healthy Habits – A Never Ending Work In Progress

  1. lilypup
    March 16, 2015

    Oh my gosh, you just exhausted me! Sometime when you are bored you should go check out my recovery goals. They are about 1% of yours. I wish I could do what you do. 😦 http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. Makenzie Beardsley
    March 16, 2015

    Loved this post! This really gives me ideas and things to work towards in regards to forming those healthy habits! I agree that doing a good solid workout on Monday can really set the tone for the whole week!

    Like

  3. Ashley
    March 16, 2015

    I love this. Thank you for sharing! We must be sisters because I relate so much to many of these points.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Karen
    March 19, 2015

    Melatonin helps to get your body ready for sleep if you take it 30 minutes before bed. It is already naturally in our body so not to worry.

    Like

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      March 19, 2015

      When I took melatonin, I took it daily, and with the continued use, I started having to increase the dose regularly. I finally weaned myself off because it got ridiculous.

      Like

Leave a Reply

