Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

To Change The Way You See Yourself – Poem

footprints

To change the way you see yourself,

To love the one within,

A task that seems impossible,

It seems there’s no way to win.

Your mind distorts your reflection,

It’s judgment oh so severe,

You see every imperfection,

And you despise the one in the mirr’r.

But who you are is beautiful,

If only you could see,

The undistorted image,

You’d be happy and be free.

You must change the way you see yourself,

You must love the one you are,

Change is like a journey,

‘ Takes determination to go far.

Focus on the positive,

Ne’er let bad thoughts intercept,

A journey of a thousand miles,

Begins with a single step.

I wanted to write a poem about the theme of my blog.  So many times people read my “Welcome to my blog” post and they tell me they feel like they’re reading about themselves.  It’s unfortunate because that post expresses the hurt and struggles that got me started on my journey to healthy living.  It’s too bad that it’s so common for people, primarily young women, but men as well, to go through such a difficult time.  “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step” is a quote from Laozi.  I find it so inspirational.  I made it the tagline of my blog, and I wanted to incorporate it into my poem.

I wanted to add, real quickly, that the prompt for this poem was supposed to be habit.  This poem is about a positive habitual change.  You can’t change the way you see yourself in just a short moment.  You must habitually focus on loving yourself for who you are.

11 comments on “To Change The Way You See Yourself – Poem

  1. juliav305
    March 19, 2015

    Great poem

    Like

  2. mireillesjourneytohealth
    March 19, 2015

    Thank you so much!

    Like

  3. Ashley
    March 20, 2015

    This is so very beautiful. Thank you for sharing. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      March 20, 2015

      Thank you! You were one of the people I hoped would see it and like it, actually. So many people have messaged me that my story sounds like their own. I hate that. I wish so many people didn’t go through it. Maybe health, nutrition, and physical fitness should be a bigger part of middle school and high school. If the proper way was taught early enough, maybe it would help.

      Like

  4. Mara Eastern
    March 25, 2015

    This is a perspect response to the prompt. Thank you for writing it – I’m one of the many, many people who relate to what you write here. Your lines are truly inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Andy Townend
    March 25, 2015

    Inspirational and so relevant.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Time For A Change – Poor Body Image, Body Shaming, Unrealistic Emphasis on Perfection | Mireille's Journey To Health

  7. allaboutcheryl
    April 9, 2015

    awesome!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2015 by in Body Image and tagged , , .
