Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Fit Girl, Wife, Mother, Homemaker – Time Management

So much to do.  So little time.  Manage your time.

So much to do. So little time. Manage your time.

It’s been brought to my attention that some of my posts give the impression that I work out all the time.  I’ve looked back and can see how someone could interpret my posts that way.  Excessive exercise isn’t a good thing.  In fact, it increases risk of injury, can cause problems for your heart, and even lead to muscle breakdown.  I’m definitely a health and fitness enthusiast, but I am so much more than that, and I do so much more than that. In addition to nurturing my body by eating healthy and working out, I nourish my soul by being an active, hands-on wife, mother, and homemaker. It’s all about time management.  Let me take you through one of my weekdays.  We’ll run through my typical Monday because each day is a little different.

After I get my two older boys to school, my 4 year-old, Sam and I come back and cuddle for about an hour and a half.

Cuddling is good for your health.

Cuddling is good for your health.

We love to cuddle, and it’s actually good for our health!  Cuddling not only feels good because it leads to the release of the “feel good” hormone, oxytocin; it actually can lower blood pressure, pain, stress, anxiety and inflammation.  I sit on the couch and work on my blog, and he lays on my lap and watches some goofy television shows.  When we’re done, we eat breakfast together.  I eat my amazing blueberry-smothered, protein pancakes and Sam has his special oatmeal.  After that, we clean. stepping on a lego Cleaning reduces mold, mildew, allergies, and bugs.  It can prevent injury as you pick things up.  There’s nothing worst than stepping on a Lego! Also, a clean, tidy environment can reduce stress.  For the health of the family, and for my sanity’s sake, I clean up everyday.  Little boys play and make messes every chance they get!  I do all the typical housewife stuff.  I do dishes, laundry, vacuuming, various scrubbing and tidying up.  Sam helps out or plays close by.

At this point, it’s about noon, and we both still look like we just got out of bed (yep, this is a regular, everyday thing).  It can be embarrassing if someone comes to the door.  At last, he gets his bath and I get my shower.  We sit down together  for lunch.  I have my green protein shake and a snack (something like my sweet potato chips or my parmesan spinach crackers).

We even box together!

We even box together!

Sam has peanut butter on toast.  He’s picky lately, and it’s a favorite of his.  We do any tidying up that still needs to be done, or we play for about 30 minutes.  Then, I either box for four 3-minute rounds, or I incline walk on my treadmill for 30 minutes.  If I box, Sam takes a turn in between rounds.  If I walk, Sam likes to take pictures of me with the ipad.  Sometimes he takes pictures of himself.  While I incline walk, he likes to talk to me about the pictures he takes.

Sam and I pack snacks, toys, and workout equipment into the stroller.  We walk to the park across the street from the older boys’ school.  Yes, I realize I just boxed or incline walked.  Our walk to the park is more leisurely.  It’s beneficial for the mind, body and soul.  The school is just over a mile away,

The scenery by my house is so beautiful, and soothing for the soul.

The scenery by my house is so beautiful, and soothing for the soul.

and the traffic is terrible.  Driving there is actually stressful.  The walk is so peaceful and energizing.  Sam and I talk, we enjoy the fresh air, and the scenery is beautiful.  We love going to the park before school gets out.  Sam loves to play on the equipment, and while he plays I get in a creative park workout.  Sure, I workout

My dear, friend, our strollers, toys, resistance bands, dumbbells, and towels (for ground exercises).  That's how we roll!

My dear, friend, our strollers, toys, resistance bands, dumbbells, and towels (for ground exercises). That’s how we roll!

at home, too, but I find working out, outside, at the park, very invigorating and fun!  Not to mention, what a great way to get some vitamin D!  Lately, I’ve had a friend tag along, and it’s just been such a great time!  As I share my workouts with her, and she pushes herself, we laugh and have fun.  I definitely recommend inviting a friend to join in on a workout!  It’s a great way to bond and get in shape.

After our park workout, we pick up our older kids from school, eat snacks and walk home.  I throw dinner in the crock pot, and my boys and I pile into the car.  I take Ben to gymnastics and Sam to karate.  While Sam does karate, I help Adam with homework.  After karate, Sam, Adam and I go home.  My wonderful husband has dinner on the table.  After dinner, I clean up from dinner, Sam and Adam play a bit, and then go to bed.  Brian leaves to pick up Ben from gymnastics (Ben and I get more time together on other

Ooey Gooey Chocolate Caramel Bars

Yep, it’s loaded with nutritious, whole foods! Check out my healthy eating section!

days) while I lift weights in our home gym. When I get done, I  create healthy treats in the kitchen, and put together my husbands lunch for the next day.

 I sit down and work on my blog (it takes more time than you would think) and then I

Leisure hobbies, like decoupage are good for the soul.

Leisure hobbies, like decoupage are good for the soul.

craft.  My husband sits down to either draw, play a video game or watch a show next to me.  We reflect on our day and relax together.  I enjoy working on craft projects to relax before bed.  Lately, I’ve taken on the project of redoing Ben’s room.  I’ve decoupaged all of his furniture with comics (Well… almost. Almost done).  I’ve been cutting squares to make him a quilt.  I think it’ll be a long project.  When that’s done, I’ll start a new project.  I love having a craft project.  It’s good for the soul.

I would like to reiterate how counter-productive excessive workouts can be.  If you workout to the point of breaking down muscle you are literally taking maybe one step forward and 10 steps backward.  It goes against every reason to workout.  Trust the process, give it time, and remember slow and steady wins the race.  It’s healthy to do other things, to clean your house, have hobbies, and enjoy leisure time.  I keep my “workouts” between 15 and 45 minutes.  In one day, the total time I spend actively “working out,” collectively,  never exceeds 2 hours, and is often less.  When I’m not working out, I’m actively getting things done.  I don’t sit and watch TV.  I can always think of something more productive to do.  Occasionally, someone will put on a show while I’m in the room working on something.  I’ll tune in from time to time, but I have a hard time staring at a screen doing nothing.  However, watching your favorite show might be your leisure time.  Manage your time.  Make time for fitness, chores, family, friends, and leisure time, too!

Make time for fun with the family.

Make time for fun with the family.

For more on this topic:

Check out why you should workout.

http://goodmenproject.com/health/the-good-life-5-ways-cuddling-makes-us-healthier/

http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/wellness_articles.asp?id=1680

http://www.housecleaningcentral.com/en/cleaning-tips/tip/top-10-benefits-of-keeping-your-house-clean.html

12 comments on “Fit Girl, Wife, Mother, Homemaker – Time Management

  1. peeledwellness
    March 30, 2015

    I love this post- a nice view behind the scenes 🙂 I’d love for you to share a post at my link up tomorrow, if you’re interested!
    Xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      March 30, 2015

      Sure thing! What’s your “link up?” I love sharing stuff, so just fill me in on what you’d like and I am happy to be a part of it. I checked out your blog and love it, by the way.

      Like

      • peeledwellness
        March 30, 2015

        There’s an explanation on my main menu under ‘tell em Tuesdays’ 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • mireillesjourneytohealth
        March 30, 2015

        Oh ok, ill check it out!

        Liked by 1 person

      • mireillesjourneytohealth
        March 31, 2015

        So, it says the collection has closed when I click on the linked in button. I’m not sure if I’m doing it right. I’m sorry.

        Like

      • mireillesjourneytohealth
        March 31, 2015

        Well, if you are able to do it, the post I was going to link is the Welcome to my blog. So many girls read it and tell me they feel like they’re reading about themselves. It’s sad, actually, because the post discusses all the negative, terrible things I did to my body before I learned about a healthy lifestyle. However, I feel like if so many women relate, maybe it will also give them hope.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ashley
    March 30, 2015

    This is sooooo great! Xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karen
    March 30, 2015

    That is one way to creatively get in a two hour workout. I figure gardening adds to my regular workout, all that bending stretching. Or regular dog walks help too, we both benefit. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      March 30, 2015

      Definitely! Some people get an intense 2 hr workout in, and spend the rest of their day sitting around. I think its better to have an active day and no structured workout than a structured workout and a lazy day.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Why workout? | Mireille's Journey To Health

  5. Pingback: The Zombie Effect Of Low Electrolytes – Beware The Heat | Mireille's Journey To Health

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 30, 2015 by in Healthy Living and tagged , , , , , , .
