Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Letter From A Child – Poem

envelope

I found a letter on my way,

I read it, and my heart was riled,

It was the saddest letter I’d ever read,

’twas written by a child.

“Too slow  to play ball at school,

And Sally will never like me,

I am  just a big, fat Frankie,

And that is all I’ll ever be.

To whom it may concern,

I’m done, I’ve had enough,

The kids at school are cruel,

And I’m just not that tough.”

With no sign of this child,

And no one else around,

I wished that I could find him,

But this child could not be found.

At that moment, I made up my mind,

To spread the word, “Love everyone,”

No matter their shape or size,

Or how fast or slow they run.

No child should hurt like Frankie,

Acceptance is the key,

Size and shape don’t matter,

It’s what’s inside. Don’t you see?

letter

More on this topic:

Learn to raise healthy kids

Time for a change.  Say good-bye to poor body image, body shaming, and an unrealistic emphasis on perfection

15 comments on “Letter From A Child – Poem

  1. HumaAq
    April 10, 2015

    nice poem.. poor kiddo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Terri Webster Schrandt
    April 10, 2015

    Very well done!! But sad!

    Like

  3. baliinfoblog
    April 10, 2015

    wow..a good poem about a worthy cause

    Like

  4. Karen
    April 10, 2015

    So true, there are many out there like that. Nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mara Eastern
    April 10, 2015

    Oh my, that’s heartbreaking… But it issues a positive message, way to go!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      April 10, 2015

      Thank you, i feel like our children are suffering because they are a product of the society in which they were raised. Theres plenty of body shaming, and not enough education on healthy eating and fitness. We’re raising kids to sit on the couch and eat junk, and then judge them harshly for not being the picture of health.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Raising Healthy Kiddos – Moderation, Education, Treats, Etc… | Mireille's Journey To Health

  7. schattenengel
    April 12, 2015

    I love it. I am drowning in sympathy and empathy which I feel for the poor kid right now.
    Love should be something everyone receives – no matter who and no matter where.
    You are so right and I thank you for sharing something great like this – especially since the message is this important

    Like

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      April 12, 2015

      Thank you! I feel like our kids are the victims of our poor dietary practices and the lack of nutrition education in schools. They are the product of the world they were born into, and judged for it. So unfortunate. Completely avoidable.

      Like

  8. Creatopath
    April 14, 2015

    A fabulous poem Mireille with a powerful message.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2015 by in Body Image, Healthy kids and tagged , , , .
