Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

I Use Supplements, and Am Proud of It! – Guest Post By BJ

While working in a nutritional supplement store, I met a lot of incredibly knowledgeable people.  A favorite of mine was BJ.  He was always fun to have in the store and would expand my understanding of nutrition every time he came into the store.   We would get really deep into these educational discussions, and I learned so much!  We’ve kept in touch, so when I got started on my blog, I asked him if he wouldn’t mind doing a post on supplements.  I was so excited when he agreed!  He tells me this is the first part of a series he’s working on.  I can hardly wait to see what follows.  This man is extremely knowledgeable, so feel free to post questions in the comments. 

Part 1

supplements

Hi everyone! This is BJ McKay. My good friend Mimi asked me to write a brief summary of why it’s beneficial to take supplements. After I thought about what to write, I came to the conclusion that brief was not possible. So instead, I’ve decided to break up my writings into different “brief” sections. With that being said, let’s jump into it with two feet!

I use supplements, and I’m proud of it!

The supplement industry has grown exponentially within the last decade, and the growth isn’t slowing down. The expansion of social media and readily available knowledge has brought multivitamins, calcium, vitamin D, and other basic supplements to the attention of the general public. Even though people are aware of these substances, many choose not to use them. I hope these articles at least get people to try the basics.

What is a supplement? A supplement is something you take in addition to eating healthy, working out, etc. A supplement is derived from food sources. It supplies the body with nutrients, but at higher concentrations, than what you receive from food alone. There are some people that believe that if you eat “healthy,” you don’t need supplements. The problem with this belief is that most people don’t eat healthily. This is where supplements come to the rescue! They can provide the body with what it’s not getting, or not getting enough, from food. Some may ask why they need these extra amounts of supplements. When the body has what it needs to perform the daily tasks of living, it is more likely “to change” when it is asked. In another words, say you want to lose 20 pounds. When you work out hard and eat right, you are more likely to see faster results when your body has what it needs.

I have condensed the benefits of taking supplements into four major categories.

More energy

Faster recovery/ results

Stronger immune system and function

Longer, healthier quality of life

I hope you have enjoyed, and found something beneficial in this first article. We will cover the individual categories in more detail in future upcoming articles. If you have specific questions that aren’t answered, please let us know, and we will try to answer them.

Thanks!

BJ

3 comments on “I Use Supplements, and Am Proud of It! – Guest Post By BJ

  1. Karen
    April 14, 2015

    My parents took a lot of supplements and I didn’t think I needed them til I found I was deficient in several myself. Now my supplements look like my parents, but I go for the higher dosages since my body doesn’t absorb them that well, but it is slowly improving. Wish I could convince some others they should be taking them too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Balance, The Brain, Meditation, And Supplements – Guest Post By BJ | Mireille's Journey To Health

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2015 by in Supplements and tagged , , , , , , .
