Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

As Kids We Just Ate!

little me

Alright, so I’ve mentioned before that I am taking a blogging/writing class at the moment.  We get a new prompt and twist every weekday.  It’s been a fun challenge so far, as it is not specifically for a healthy living blogger, but bloggers in general.  Each night when I check the prompt and twist, I have to sit and think about how I can relate that prompt and twist to my healthy living blog.  Well, today’s topic is actually food related!  I get to reflect on my childhood favorite food.

Pumpkin pie!  As a child I was known to polish off an entire pumpkin pie single handedly upon occasion.  I looked forward to it every Thanksgiving.  It was my favorite part.  I thought about it the entire Thanksgiving season.  My mom saved all of our journals from school.  I must confess, there are actually a few entries specifically about pumpkin pie.  I think I may have even written a poem.  I was kind of obsessed.  By that, I mean I was, well… very obsessed.  I still love it!  I do, however, approach it with a little more dignity and hmm… maturity perhaps, now.  I think I’ve established my self-control.

Early on in my marriage, after an argument with my husband, he would go to the store and return with flowers and pumpkin pie.  This happened a few times.  The first time it happened, I knew  I’d married Mr. Right.  In case you are wondering, I haven’t eaten any in one shot.  By the time we married, I was more aware of my eating habits.  I’ve enjoyed them, one slice at a time.

I miss being a kid sometimes.  I used to enjoy eating without a thought or a care in the world.  I remember the days before I knew what a calorie was.  Before I knew what carbs, fats, and proteins are.  I ate because I was hungry, stopped when I was full, and my metabolism was plenty high, anyway.  Well, the calories, carbs, fats, proteins, vitamins, and minerals do matter, and we need to be aware of them.  That wont ever change.  It’s good that we develop an awareness as we grow up.  On the other hand, as a kid I didn’t eat out of boredom.  Every gathering didn’t require food.  It was more about listening to my body.  I ate when I was hungry, stopped when I was full, and the rest of the time, I was running around playing outside.  It was natural.  It’s what I wanted to do.

I was fortunate enough to be brought up in a house where mom prepared all of our food.  We didn’t live on fast food, though as a kid I sometimes wished we did.  Mom was a great cook, but every kid wants McDonalds.  I didn’t know any better.  We didn’t have a pantry full of hostess, which I actually never wished for.  Packaged cakes have nothing on fresh!  Mom made all of our food.  She always prepared well-rounded meals.  Mom grew veggies, canned them, and she’d use her own canned tomatoes to make her own spaghetti sauce and things of that nature.  So, I was very fortunate.  Even though I grew up not knowing all that I know now, because of the food my mom prepared, we were actually eating quite well.

Grandma used to make her pumpkin pie from an actual pumpkin.  Mom did that sometimes, but typically it was canned pumpkin and then she mixed it up and created delicious pumpkin pies.  I’ve done it from the actual pumpkin before, though the can is definitely nice, and that’s my go-to method.

I decided that if I was going to right a post about pumpkin pie, I just had to have a more wholesome pumpkin pie recipe to go with it.  If that sounds like a lot of work, let me tell you I am reaping the rewards.  I now I have these ridiculously delicious pumpkin pie tartlets to eat!  I actually already had one, and this recipe just might be better than the classic pumpkin pie.  I used my sugar pie tartlet recipe as kind of a base.  That’s going to come in handy come Thanksgiving.  It’ll make it easy to prepare both at the same time.

Check this recipe out!  Tell me what you think!

Pumpkin Pie – GF, Dairy-Free, Pale… And Still Better Than The Original!!!

pumpkin pie

Check out Part 2 of this post here!

5 comments on “As Kids We Just Ate!

  1. Liz!
    April 18, 2015

    I share your love of the pumpkin pie. So much so that when I was little my Aunt started making my very own for just me. She still does almost 25 years later!

    Like

  2. crazygradmama
    April 18, 2015

    When I was in college, I justified eating pumpkin pie on the basis that it counted as a vegetable. (I mean, there’s a lot of real pumpkin in there, right? LOL.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      April 19, 2015

      Hey, I mean, there sure is! Lol, well if you click on my recipe you can totally justify it. It’s sweetened be dates, and the crust is made with coconut and tapioca flour, as well as coconut oil. The filling gets its creamy consistency from coconut milk and cashews. It’s brilliant if I do say so myself! lol

      Like

  3. Pingback: As Kids We Ate – Part 2 | Mireille's Journey To Health

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 18, 2015 by in Healthy kids, Healthy Living and tagged , , .
