Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Note To All: Eat Your Greens

spinach

Bring on the kale, collards, turnip greens, Swiss chard, spinach, mustard greens, broccoli (sort of a leafy green), lettuce, and cabbage.  Gardening season is upon us and my spinach is poking up out of the ground!!!  This is the best time of year to eat leafy greens.  They are easy to grow your own, and even if you choose not to, they are in season, so they often cost less.  They are so available and so good for you.  Leafy greens are loaded with fiber, vitamins, minerals, and phyto-nutrients (plant-based nutrients).  Per calorie, they are the most nutritious vegetables you will find.

I want to share with you a couple of key points in order for you to get the best nutritional value from your leafy greens:

  • Refrigerate your leafy greens immediately in a vegetable crisper.
  • Store in an almost freezing temperature, and high humidity to retain the most nutrients.
  • Always wash before preparing.
  • After 5 days, dark leafy greens lose half their vitamin C. So eat them up quick!  Although, even after 5 days, they still have more vitamin C than many other vegetables ever have.

Salad, salad, salad!!!  Ok, you can tell me you get bored with salads.  I don’t quite get that.  I mean, salads are incredibly versatile.  I think I could make an entirely different salad everyday of the year.  I get creative.  I add different veggies, fruit, nuts, seeds, and sometimes meat to my salads.  The sky is the limit!  Seriously, if you think salad gets boring, you probably just need to mix it up.  Ok, though, let’s look at some non-salad alternatives:

  • Throw some greens into your smoothie.  I blend up about half of my giant Costco-size bag of spinach right away.  I pour the puree in my ice cube trays.  It keeps the vitamin C content from depleting.  I throw 3 spinach cubes in when I make my smoothies.  Check out my Simple Green Smoothie recipe.  It’s green, but it tastes like a banana cream shake.
  • Make crackers.  I use spinach to make my Spinach Parmesan Crackers.  They are green as can be, but they taste like Cheez-Its!
  • Puree some greens and add it to soups, stews, and sauces.  You wont even taste it.
  • Use collard greens as sandwich wraps.
  • Use large lettuce leaves in place of taco shells
  • Add greens to little quiches.  Check out my Sausage, Spinach Eggs 2 Go
  • Make chips with your dark leafy greens.  I lay mine  on a greased pan.  I spritz them with a little oil.  I sprinkle a little sea salt on them, and bake them at 275′ for about 40 minutes.  You have to watch them to make sure they don’t get overcooked and to make sure they bake evenly.  Sometimes you have to stir them.

With such an abundance of nutrients, your leafy greens literally benefit your body from head to toe.  They are able to fight and help prevent illness and disease.  Eat them up!

4 comments on “Note To All: Eat Your Greens

  1. HumaAq
    April 23, 2015

    Nice nutritional blog

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lucydanvers
    April 23, 2015

    This was really great and it gave me some good ideas! 🙂 Awesome writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2015 by in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , .
