Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

5 Apps To Increase Your Productivity – Guest Post By Crunch Theory

I’m really excited about this post.  It’s written by Tessa Marie, from Crunch Theory.  She has a very cool blog.  She posts about all of the latest technology to help you live happy and healthy.  I love these 5 apps she shares in this post because they all help eliminate stress.  She has apps for everything from keeping organized to meditating, which as she explains, she does on a train.  So, it can literally be done anywhere.  Here is what she has to say:
_______________________________________________________________
5 Apps To Increase Your Productivity
Guest post by Tessa Marie, the founder and editor for Crunch Theory. Crunch Theory is all about emerging technologies and scientific discoveries helping us to live happier, healthier lives. 
We live in an ever-connected world, and sometimes all of the technology around us can be overwhelming. Luckily, there are five apps I can’t live without to help make my days a little more streamlined, allowing me to focus on what’s truly important.
#1 AnyDo
any do
This is a MUST. It’s a to-do list on steroids, and it’s perfect for work and personal use. AnyDo allows you to add things to your list, check them off, and set reminders. It seamlessly syncs with its companion calendar app, Cal, so you can see your to-do list on your calendar.
My favorite AnyDo feature is the ability to create sub-tasks, which basically allows you to have a list within a list. It’s an easier and more realistic way to keep everything in one place. For example, if you need to go grocery shopping, you can add it to your list of things to do that day. Then, you can go into the grocery shopping note and put your grocery list.
AnyDo is also available on your smartphone, through a desktop application, and on the web, so you can access your list anywhere. With everything in one place, it keeps me on-track and on-time.
#2 Evernote
evernote
evernote2
There are a lot of note and content storage systems out there, but Evernote is my favorite. In the application, you create notebooks with individual notes inside the app. It’s the perfect way to store any thoughts, links, or pictures for just about anything.
I use Evernote for so many productive and not-so-productive reasons. For example, I have my Crunch Theory notebook where I save things I think will be relevant to the blog. From there, I have individual notes for different aspects of the blog. I have one for post ideas and another with links I should post to my social media accounts. At the other end of productivity spectrum, I have another Evernote notebook called “I Love,” which is just a random assortment of pictures friends have sent me or cute ideas from the Internet that I store in one place.
You can also share notebooks with others for collaborative projects. This is also a handy feature that I take full advantage of with my S.O. We have a shared notebook called “Adventures,” where we put places or things that we want to see.
The possibilities of you can do with Evernote are endless, and its available for every platform imaginable. Because your information is stored in the cloud, you can access to your content from anywhere. I highly recommend at least downloading this one to see what it’s all about.
#3 Feedly
feedly
Reading the news is a time-suck, but it’s an important one. Feedly is the best app to pull out if you have an extra five minutes and want to know what’s going on in the world.
It’s designed as an easy way to skim the news. You get the headlines with the intro to the article underneath. You can click on any headline that strikes your eye to read the article within the app.
Feedly also lets you choose what news you want to see. The journalist in me doesn’t like this feature as much, but it is helpful when you’re trying to be productive. It’s how I find a lot of the stories I post to my blog because it’s so easy to go through and read about what’s happening each day.
And if you find that you love Evernote, you can save stories you want to read later straight from Feedly to Evernote, so they make the perfect companion apps. It is available for both desktop and mobile, but, in my opinion, it’s better to use on a smartphone.
#4 Calm
calm
Calm is a meditation app, which may seem counterintuitive at first, but it’s important. Meditation has tons of proven health benefits, and by taking the time to clear your head, you’re actually able to focus better throughout the rest of the day.
Calm works by guiding you through 10-minute meditations. The intro meditation series, 7 Days of Calm, is free, so you can get a feel for whether or not you like the app. Additional guided programs, like anxiety release, compassion, and confidence, are available by upgrading the app to pro.
For me, what separated Calm from the other apps is the background sound. You can customize any background you want playing, and that really helps me to separate from where I am (usually a train) and enter full relaxation mode.
At only 10-minutes, I am able to make time for Calm most days, and the app pushes me a reminder when it’s been 24 hours since my last meditation session.
Tried Calm and don’t like it? Some people prefer Headspace. Headspace is similar concept but with a different feel, so it may work better for you.
#5 Moves
Moves is the activity app for productive people. It tracks your activity without you having to do a thing, and it lets you know how many steps you’ve taken. Even better? Researchers have proven it works – better than wearables in fact.
Moves keeps track of how many steps you’ve taken, so you can set a goal number of steps for each day. It’s the perfect app for when you don’t have time to hit the gym, but you want to increase your activity.
Moves also tracks other activity you do, including running and biking, in case you have time for some more strenuous form of exercise.
I’ve found that since I started using Moves, I increased my activity by making small changes, like standing when I talk on the phone or going on short walks when I have some spare time.
So what do you think? Do you agree with the list? What are your must-have productivity apps? Let me know in the comments below and be sure to check out Crunch Theory for more technology tips and tech for a healthier, happier lifestyle.
___________________________________________________
Thank you, Tessa for sharing these apps with us!  Everyone, I definitely recommend checking out her blog, Crunch Theory.  I follow it myself, and each post presents something new and interesting.
5 comments on “5 Apps To Increase Your Productivity – Guest Post By Crunch Theory

  1. Makenzie Beardsley
    April 26, 2015

    This is great! Also, “The skimm” is a website that emails you every weekday morning with current events. They read the articles then sum it up for you in one email for when you don’t have time to sit down and ready lengthy articles.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 5 Reasons To Meditate Daily [Infographic] | Crunch Theory

  3. Karen
    May 21, 2015

    I am not a techy so I appreciate learning some basic worthwhile apps to check out. Thanks for the post Tessa.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2015 by in Healthy Living and tagged , , , , , , .
