Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Plastic Confessions

Before

This is the best before I could find.  It's a little bit old.

This is the best before I could find. It’s a little bit old.

After

This is a recent after.  The time difference in these photos is about 15 years.  It was the best before and after photos I could come up with.

This is a recent after. The time difference in these photos is about 15 years. It was the best before and after photos I could come up with.

Ok, so here I am.  I have introduced myself as a girl who struggled with body image, did terrible things to be skinny, and discovered a healthy lifestyle.  Well, all of that is definitely very true.  However, I must confess, I’ve been withholding a secret.  I’ve had plastic surgery.  Twice.  How can I expect you to trust me to share honestly and openly if I’m withholding secrets like that?  I suppose I can’t.

It All Started With My Nose

When I was really little, a family member mentioned to me that my hair looked best parted to the side.  She said that if I parted it down the center, it drew attention to my nose.  Apparently, this was not as flattering.  I was told my nose had “character, which I later learned was a positive way of describing something that was unique, but not necessarily beautiful.  I was a little girl!  I wanted to look beautiful!

I Grew Up With A Complex

I can honestly say, I never did part my hair down the middle growing up.  I didn’t want people to notice my unique nose.  And of course, my unique nose grew a bump on the bridge as I went through puberty.  Why wouldn’t a nose that already had character develop more character?!  I couldn’t look in the mirror without noticing my nose.  I didn’t like pictures of my profile because they caught every part of it I’d come to hate.  I felt like I could never be pretty with that nose.  I wanted surgery so bad!  My parents were definitely not going to pay for that, and I didn’t have the money, so I was stuck with the nose I hated while growing up.

My Husband Loved Me With My Nose

I joined the army and met my husband.  We fell madly in love.  I was discharged from the army after only one year due to a severe peanut allergy.  We were married shortly after.  He loved me to pieces, even with my nose.  He never wanted me to change a thing.  He always told me I had body dysmorphic disorder.  I was always picking myself apart.  Always pointing out the negative.  He loved me, even with the parts I didn’t love myself.

From The Nose To The Boobs

After being married a year, my husband deployed to Iraq.  I don’t recall exactly how it started, I think I may have asked if I could get a nose job while he was away.  I do know I didn’t pester him about it, so please don’t think that.  I think I’d mentioned it casually during one of our phone calls, and he, being so far away, wanting to do something nice for me, said yes.  Sort of.  He actually said something to the effect of, “I think it’d be weird for you to change your face.  Get a boob job!  You’ll see, it’s not fun.  It’s painful!  You’ll never want anything else done.”  I, of course challenged him.  I said, “So, if I get the boob job, and I still want the nose job, I can get it?”  He agreed.  He didn’t think any of it would ever actually happen.  He was just trying to end what he considered to be a ridiculous conversation.

Stubborn Girl’s A Go-Getter

I immediately started calling plastic surgeon’s for consultations.  The next thing I know, I have an appointment for a breast augmentation.  My mom went with me to the consult, and drove me on the day of the surgery.  She was very supportive, and even helped me choose my new breast size.  I remember when the plastic surgeon asked what my current size was, I said AA (double A).  He said, “We don’t have AA as an option.  We’ll just say A.”  It didn’t offend me.  I’d always bought my bras in the little girls section.  My breasts were naturally non-existent, but it was my nose that really bothered me.  Getting breasts was just a bonus.  I thought the idea of it was fun.  Once I got them, I enjoyed shopping in the women’s section.  I was able to buy nice bras.  My naturally straight up and down figure had a womanly curve.  It was exhilarating.  I recovered from that surgery so quick.  I was at work 2 days later, though it was a few weeks before I could lift anything heavy.  I never felt much pain.  I took my pain pills as prescribed and everything was fine.  I was ready to set up an appointment for my nose.

I Just Went For It

I’m so lucky my husband was so care-free and loving.  Here he was in Iraq, and I was at my parents getting spoiled.  I told him I felt great about the breast augmentation and that the recovery wasn’t all bad.  I said, “So, can I fix my nose now?”  That’s all I’d really wanted from the beginning.  He was a little uneasy about it, but he knew how bad I wanted it.  He told me I could go ahead.  I set up a consultation, and from there, I set up an appointment.  I couldn’t believe it was really happening.  I’d waited my whole life!  I was finally able to say good-bye to this thing I’d hated so much about myself.  As nervous as I was on the day of surgery, I was also very excited.

Recovery Was A Little Tougher Second Time Around

I remember panicking for a second when I woke up from the anesthesia.  I couldn’t breathe through my nose.  While that totally makes sense after a nose job (rhinoplasty), it’s not something a person realized the second they come out of anesthesia.  I quickly realized I needed to breathe through my mouth.  The doctor had tape over my nose for a couple of weeks, so I didn’t get to see it initially.  I was really excited to see it, but some parts of recovery were a little hard.  I could not sleep flat.  I had to sleep in a recliner for a few weeks because it was the only way I could breathe.  Also, my nose had this terrible, annoying stuffy feeling for the first couple weeks.  It was full of dried blood and boogers, but I couldn’t blow my nose.  So, it wasn’t terrible.  I wasn’t in pain.  It was just a less comfortable recovery.  I was ok with it.  I would have gone through worst to change my nose.

The Big Reveal

The day the doctor took the tape off and I got to see my nose for the first time was so much fun.  Honestly, from the front, it was only a slight change.  However, my profile was entirely different.  I Skyped with my husband as soon as I got home.  At first I was looking straight into the camera, so he got the front view.  He said, “That’s cool, it’s not that different,” very nonchalantly.  Then, with a huge smile on my face, I turned so he could see it from the side.  We both laughed and smiled.  He could see how happy I was.  It made him happy to see me smiling and excited about my new nose.

Am I Happy With My Body Now?

I absolutely love that I changed my nose.  I’m not going to lie.  Some people might not agree with that, but it’s the way I honestly feel.  My natural nose didn’t feel natural.  I didn’t see myself when I looked in the mirror.  While I most definitely could have lived a good, fulfilling life with my natural nose, I am so grateful that I do not have to.  Now I can live a good, fulfilling life with a nose that feels like me.  As far as my breasts are concerned, I love them!  They are the only womanly curve I have.  They make me laugh when I think back on how they came to be.  I would have been just fine without them, but I love them.  I suppose my breasts were just a happy bonus.  It’s  been 8 years since all of these bodily changes took place.  One might wonder if I’m happy with my body now.  Yes and no.  That’s my honest answer.  I have the body of a girl who works hard to eat right and stay active.  I am very proud of that.  At 30 years-old, and after having 3 kids, I am in amazing shape.  I can see where my body still needs work, and that is ok.  I’m continuing to make slow, steady progress.  I’ve come a very long way.  I’m enjoying this journey and want to see just how much I’m capable of.  I don’t have hips.  Working out wont change that.  I’m straight up and down if you look at me from the front, and that’s ok.  I used to be straight up and down if you looked at me from the side, but with hard work, I’ve built myself a little booty.  I don’t enjoy watching my face get older.  I still feel so young.  The small wrinkles around my eyes look off to me.  I would probably jump at the chance to get Botox, but I’m not going out of my way to get it.  There are more important things in my life.

Did My Life Change

I’m the same girl I was before I had plastic surgery.  I suppose my confidence went up a bit.  I used to worry people would notice I had a terrible nose.  The world around me definitely was not affected by the changes.  People who didn’t like me, still didn’t like me.  People who loved me, still loved me.  My friends didn’t think I was any cooler.  Everyone who knew me saw me as the same girl I was before the plastic surgery.  My husband loved me the same before and after.  I’m still the same person I was before I changed my body.

I Don’t Condone Or Oppose Of Plastic Surgery

It’s completely acceptable to change your hairstyle.  Embracing your own sense of style is admirable.  Fashion is an art form.  Bodybuilding is like sculpting, as you build and cut, and create a shape.  Our individual form and style keeps us interesting and beautiful.  Plastic surgery is just another method of creating an art form.  It is best used with disgression, but if used carefully, can help create a master piece.

16 comments on “Plastic Confessions

  1. Mark Rodgers
    April 30, 2015

    Well written and summed up well. I must say I think you looked nice 15 years ago and now! I always wanted to be taller …….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lucydanvers
    April 30, 2015

    I think this is so inspiring, and so true! I believe everyone has the right to do what makes them happy in life, without judgement, and plastic surgery is no exception. It is great that you were able to feel so good after your surgeries, and it always makes me happy when people are able to be who they want to be. Great read – very positive, and open-minded.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shelby Webb
    April 30, 2015

    Thank you for the honesty. You look amazing in BOTH pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ashley
    April 30, 2015

    I think you are absolutely gorgeous in both photos. I am so glad that you are still embracing that other ‘you’ because you are you no matter what! Thanks so much for sharing. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Makenzie Beardsley
    April 30, 2015

    I work in a plastic surgery clinic and think this is great! There is nothing wrong with it and if it will help your self esteem, go for it! Working in that clinic makes me want to get all kinds of procedures done!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      April 30, 2015

      Oh I bet! I’m sure being in that environment on a daily basis would make any person consider a procedure or two. I bet it’s really fun, too.

      Like

  6. microyogi
    April 30, 2015

    Wow thank you for sharing. I went through similar issues. Once it was fixed I was so much happier. They also say plastic surgery is addictive. I haven’t wanted anything else done at all. Recovery was tough enough to give me a reality check!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      April 30, 2015

      I was lucky, my recoveries were not bad. I agree, while it can be addictive, it’s definitely not always. I’m not addicted. I only had 2 procedures because I really wanted my nose done. While it’s important to love who you are, it is also ok to change something you really don’t like. I feel more like me with my nose now. I feel like this nose better fits who I am inside. It goes beyond feeling beautiful. I feel more comfortable when I look in the mirror. Like this is what I was meant to look like all along. Like this is me. The nose that fits my soul.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Karen
    May 1, 2015

    Nose jobs became popular by young Jewish girls coming of age over a half a century ago. It was more unusual if you didn’t get one. More girls now are actually embracing their heritage. With your Jewish heritage it’s what works for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Donna
    May 3, 2015

    I think it is up to the individual if they can afford it and feel they want it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

