Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Nothing But Willpower

It’s the last day of my writing/blogging class.  We’ve been asked to write about our most prized possessions.  I’m a bit of a minimalist and don’t put a lot of value in things.  At least not to the point of being “prized.”   As I thought about it, I came up with a quality/characteristic that has literally carried through my life.  I don’t know where I’d be without it.

willpower3

You know those moments when you feel defeated?  Some of those moments seem to last forever.  It feels like thick, heavy darkness is caving in on you.  It truly feels heavy, and you feel trapped in the darkness.  It seems never ending.  You feel like the universe is against you.  When I was younger, one of the things that got me through times like that was a song by Rodney Atkins:

If You’re Going Through Hell Lyrics

Well you know those times
When you feel like there’s a sign there on your back
Says I don’t mind if ya kick me seems like everybody has
Things go from bad to worse you’d think they can’t get worse than that
And then they do

You step off the straight and narrow and you don’t know where you are
Use the needle of your compass to sew up your broken heart
Ask directions from a genie in a bottle of Jim Beam
And she lies to you, that’s when you’ll learn the truth

If you’re going through hell keep on going
Don’t slow down, if you’re scared, don’t show it
You might get out before the devil even knows you’re there

Well I been deep down in that darkness, I been down to my last match
Felt a hundred different demons breathing fire down my back
And I knew that if I stumbled I’d fall right into the trap
That they were laying, yeah

But the good news is there’s angels everywhere out on the street
Holding out a hand to pull you back upon your feet
The ones that you been dragging for so long you’re on your knees
You might as well be free

Guess what I’m saying
If you’re going through hell keep on going
Don’t slow down, if you’re scared, don’t show it
You might get out before the devil even knows you’re there

Yeah, if you’re going through hell keep on moving
Face that fire walk right through it
You might get out before the devil even knows you’re there

If you’re going through hell keep on going
Don’t slow down, if you’re scared, don’t show it
You might get out before the devil even knows you’re there

Yeah, if you’re going through hell, keep on moving
Face that fire, walk right through it
You might get out before the devil even knows you’re there
Yeah you might get out before the devil even knows you’re there
Yeah, ooh

Songwriters
DAVE BERG, ANNIE TATE, SAM TATE

Published by
Lyrics © SPIRIT MUSIC GROUP

I used to listen to that song whenever I started to lose hope.  It gave me the push I needed to keep going.  I like how it says “Face that fire walk right through it.”  It always made me feel stronger.  It made me feel like I had a fighting chance.  I would just power through.  I just wouldn’t stop.  I would wake up each day, and do everything I had to do.  I would give it my best.  And eventually I would get through whatever it was that was weighing me down so much.

dory

I rely on willpower on a daily basis.  It gets me through so many things.  It helps me walk up a hill, both figuratively and literally.  When my friend and I walk back after picking up our kids from school, following our park workouts, the walk is all uphill.  Pushing our strollers up the hill can get pretty tough.  I just keep pushing.  It’s harder to get going if I stop.  It’s easier to just push through.  Just like lifting weights.  When my body is shaking, I’m sweaty, exhausted, and I haven’t finished.  I dig deep and I keep going.

willpower 1

I push through life’s obstacles, both big and  small, the same way.  I just keep going.  I don’t give up.  Sometimes the obstacles are financial.  Sometimes they’re just having so much to do and not enough time.  Sometimes it’s stress in relation to being a military wife.  Sometimes my stress comes from normal motherhood challenges.  Sometimes when it rains, it pours, and it hits all at once.

willpower2

I’ve become a really strong person as I’ve overcome obstacles time and time again.  With each obstacle I overcome, I inspire myself.  I impress myself, and I feel like I can take on more.  I’ve done so many things I never thought I could do.  I’ve made it through a million bad days.  I’ve kept things together while my husband was deployed twice.  I’ve had 3 kids and still have a sense of humor.  When I was in the army, I threw a live grenade and learned to fix a tank.  I survived getting lost in Norway.  Everyday, I get up, clean my house, take care of my kids, prepare healthy meals, workout, and get through whatever obstacles and challenges come my way.

My willpower is something I treasure.  Some of my accomplishments have come more from willpower than anything else.  I’m not always great at things.  Not everything comes easy, but I’m stubborn, proud and do not give up.  I have an incredible drive and determination.  It’s my willpower and I cherish it for all it’s enabled me to do.

3 comments on “Nothing But Willpower

  1. Donna
    May 1, 2015

    Another good quote would be “The Little Train that could chukka chukka….”

    Like

  2. Jordan
    May 14, 2015

    Hey I am so grateful I found your web site, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks
    for a marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but
    I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

