Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Waste Not, Want Not – Don’t Let Your $$$ On Healthy Food Go To Waste

Healthy Eating Is  More Expensive.

One issue that deters a lot of people from a healthy diet is the cost.  They’re absolutely right.  It does cost more to eat healthy, and for most people, money tends to be tight.  I’m no different, so I like to stretch my dollar.  Well, I’m stubborn, determined, and dead set on eating healthy.  I’ve learned a couple of tricks along the way, and I’m going to share one with you, right now.  This may seem like common sense, but sometimes, it’s good to review the basics.  Sometimes, we forget the simplest things.

So here is my rule:

Do NOT let anything go to Waste!!!

Simple, right?  And I’m sure everyone was taught that growing up, but still a lot of people end up throwing food away because either it was hidden in the back of the fridge where no one could see, or the fruits or veggies ripened faster than people were eating and they just went bad.  It happens!

Do Not Make Extra Trips To The Store

Here’s what I do to avoid wasting food. I grocery shop once each week.  After that, I really try not to.  I’m actually very good at creating dinners, snacks, and desserts out of what probably looks like nothing to most people.  By the end of the week, my fridge and pantry are extremely bare.  I never have furry surprises that need to be tossed because they were hiding behind things.  I don’t buy excessive amounts of food that we do not need, and I don’t replenish the fridge and pantry while there is still food to eat.  If there is enough to get through another day, then I wait a day to grocery shop.  Now, if there’s an emergency, and we need something, I go to the store as needed based on the emergency.

Watch Your Produce

Another thing I do to avoid wasting food, is I keep an eye on all of the fresh produce.  Fruits and veggies are so healthy, but they don’t always last very long.  Most produce doesn’t go bad overnight.  If I see my fruits and/or veggies starting to over-ripen, it’s crunch time.  It is time to immediately figure out a use for them.  That can mean eating them as they are right away.  It can mean cooking or baking with them.  How you use them is up to you.  The point is to find a way to use them so they don’t go to waste.

This Evening’s Cherries

It just so happened that this evening, I noticed my cherries were starting to ripen a bit much.  My boys and I love fresh cherries.   I was excited to see them for a great price last time I did groceries, and bought a lot.  Too many, actually.  I’d bought other fruit, as well, and though we were eating the cherries, with so much fruit, we just weren’t eating all of the cherries.

Cherries chopped and ready

I considered baking with the cherries, boiling them into a syrup, or even making gummies with them.  However, with the weather heating up, I’ve been craving colder, more refreshing things, like smoothies.  Now, if you look at the picture above, you’ll see that all of the cherries are cut in half.  This was definitely a hassle, but I removed all of the pits.  If you have a high-powered blender, you could probably puree the cherries whole, pits included.  Normally, I have my Vitamix, but it’s been sent in for repairs.  This is a loaner from a friend.  I thought it best to remove the pits.

Blended cherries

I let the blender run for a few minutes so the cherry puree was good and smooth.

Ready to freeze

Then, I poured the puree into my ice cube tray and placed it in the freezer.  When I make smoothies now, I can just throw a couple in and blend.  I like this so much better than ice because it doesn’t dilute the flavor.  The result is a thick, cold, flavorful smoothie.  In my mind right now, I’m thinking a cherry chocolate shake sounds delicious.  Though, a nice cherry-berry shake sounds yummy, too.  I will let you know what I come up with.

Waste Not, Want Not

In the meantime, waste not, want not.  Healthy food is more expensive, so don’t let it go to waste!

16 comments on “Waste Not, Want Not – Don’t Let Your $$$ On Healthy Food Go To Waste

  1. Donna
    May 21, 2015

    Reblogged this on homemade naturally and commented:
    The title intrigued me and I liked what I read. I am planting more of my garden every day and will be eating fresh but there will be lots to use for canning and giving away. Which I had been thinking about just before I read this. Love the idea of doing the puree for future smoothies.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Donna! I told my mom she needs to teach me how to can when she comes to visit. There are so many things I want to can. My mom usually did her canning while we were at school, so I never really learned.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Eileen On
        May 21, 2015

        These days, I always love getting gifts of canned food from friends – one of my favorites was fire and ice pickles. In our first house we had very productive plum trees so I learned to make jam. A neighbor shyly asked if we had extra plums — we hadn’t realized the previous owners had been sharing the fruit throughout the neighborhood. Helped us make great friends!

        Like

      • That sounds just like my mom. She also has plum trees, makes jam, and shares with the neighbors. I think it is great. Right now, we are in an apartment, so my garden is small.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. lovetotrav
    May 21, 2015

    You are so right. It is so easy to waste food but takes just a little time and effort to think of how to use what we should when the time is up. I love your blend the cherries idea. That would work with all fruit almost for later use in smoothies. Smart tips. Thanks, Cheryl

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amy
    May 21, 2015

    Great advice!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Karen
    May 21, 2015

    I love that it is such a fast fix for a problem and nothing is going to waste.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Casey
    May 21, 2015

    Super idea! Also, once they’re frozen you can put them in a freezer baggie or container. Just be sure to label (I learned the hard way).

    Liked by 1 person

  6. howtostuffyourpig
    May 21, 2015

    This is great! Most people don’t realize the real cost of wasting food! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Unfortunately you are absolutely right! I think if they could see the monetary value of their waste, they’d be more careful and find ways to waste less.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

