Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Cleaning Doesn’t Make Me Happy, But A Clean House Does – So, I Clean

mom cleans

Not So, Like Mother, Like Daughter

My mom is the ultimate homemaker.  Truly!  She somehow has managed, all of my life, to keep a very beautiful house.  And it just keeps getting nicer, and more beautiful.  Better Homes & Gardens could do a photo shoot in my parent’s house without giving my mom any notice and the pictures would be fabulous.  It always looks absolutely lovely!  None of her housework, beautiful homemaking skills rubbed off on me.

no housework

I Am Not A Fan Of Housework

I hate cleaning.  Most cleaning, anyway.  When I was younger, my bed was never made.  Never.  Also, my bedroom carpet was typically hidden below a layer of clothes.  I didn’t clean my bathroom unless my parents absolutely made me.  I didn’t do laundry until I had absolutely nothing to wear.  Dishes were the worst.  I hated doing dishes with a passion!

hate dishes

Really Hated The Dishes

I remember, as a child, I would load the dishes into the dishwasher with plastic bags over my hands.  I couldn’t stand the thought of touching the bits of semi-rinsed, semi-still there food on another person’s plate.  If there were food tidbits in a fork, that was terrible.  I couldn’t stand any of the large baking pans or casserole dishes.  It would take me about an hour to get through loading that darn dishwasher.

clean dishes

Anything To Get Out Of The Dishes

I remember, as a teenager, a friend spent the night.  It happened to be my dish night.  I started loading the dishwasher.  I thought I’d come a long way with my dishwasher loading.  Apparently, not.  She looked at me loading the dishwasher, burst out laughing, and told me to get out of the way.  She proceeded to load the remaining dishes very quickly, and with a smile on her face.  I felt so lucky!

Man cleaning

Dreaming Of A Husband Who Cleans

I always told everyone, my goal was to marry a man who loved doing housework.  I heard of women who made dinner and the husband did the dishes.  I thought that was the perfect scenario.  I was hoping he’d do my dishes, my laundry, and scrub my floors.  I’m sure they exist, but I did not marry one.

messy boys

I’m A Mom, And I Clean

Somehow, I find myself cleaning.  Constantly.  I still don’t love cleaning, but I have three little boys who love to eat, play, run around, and leave a messy trail wherever they go.  Dishes get used non-stop.  Shoes and clothes get dropped in random places.  Art projects can get a little messy.  Food gets dropped.  And Legos get left in various places.

orderly house, orderly mind

An Orderly House Makes An Orderly Mind

I love a clean house.  My mom blessed me and cursed me at the same time.  I now have to clean my house.  I feel the way my house looks.  If my house is dirty, I feel dirty, gross, embarrassed, and ashamed.  If my house is cluttered, I feel stressed out, frazzled, and chaotic.  I can’t function.  When my house is clean and tidy, I feel fresh.  I feel like I have at least a few things together.  I feel like a proud wife and mother.  It brings me so much peace of mind.  I can’t even begin to describe just how good it feels to be in my own clean house.

doing dishes

Even Those Nasty Dishes

Oddly enough, a messy kitchen bothers me more than anything.  I can’t stand dirty dishes.  In fact, I can’t stand dirty dishes more than I can’t stand doing the dishes.  I’m even finding myself hating to do the dishes less and less. It’s slow, but it is happening.

house and mind

Your Home, Your Place

Did you know one of the best ways to de-stress and clear your mind is to de-clutter and clear/clean your house?  You don’t realize how much the state of your home impacts the state of your mind, but it does.  It’s the place you begin and end each day.  It’s your escape from the rest of the world.  It’s the place you can be completely and totally yourself.  It’s worth it to make your special place, a place that makes you feel clean and refreshed.

grateful

8 comments on “Cleaning Doesn’t Make Me Happy, But A Clean House Does – So, I Clean

  1. baliinfoblog
    May 23, 2015

    I absolutely agree! I hate a cluttered house, but I also hate cleaning it. My biggest pet peeve is doing the ironing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I saw on pinterest that you can throw something that is wrinkly into the dryer with a couple of ice cubes and it creates steam and gets out most wrinkles. I do this so often now. It works very well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • baliinfoblog
        May 25, 2015

        wow, I never heard that. Unfortunately I do not have a drier, the weather is so good here, we do not need one.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, here too! I’m in Southern Texas. We’re military, so we move a lot. We just brought our dryer with us.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen
    May 23, 2015

    My sister is the best house cleaner I know. I prefer to work in the garden before I HAVE to clean my house. Needless to say I hate a dirty kitchen and try to keep on top of the dishes all the time. When you don’t have little kids around anymore (except visiting grandkids) it is a lot easier for things to stay in place. I remember the days when you even wonder if it is worth it because it looks the same by the end of the next day. It really does make you feel better knowing your place is clean and tidy. Husbands sometimes develop that helping out quality later in life, mine did. You can only hope.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My husband goes through phases. Sometimes he is very helpful. Unfortunately, he tolerates a mess better than I do. I’m sure it is more gratifying to clean when you don’t have to worry about kids messing it up. I once read that cleaning with kids is like brushing your teeth and then eating oreos.

      Like

  3. Larice
    May 23, 2015

    I am the same way, I love a clean house but boy do I hate to clean! I only have one little toddler but I am cleaning all the time! Haha great post it gave me a chuckle

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’ve come to love making my bed. I think it’s because my room is one of the few places that stays clean. Everything else is like kicking against bricks. It’s like filming for a movie. You have cleaning take 1, take 2, take 3, and so on.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

