Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Get On Your Feet, Get Up And Make It Happen!

cropped-cropped-fb_img_14241960848601.jpg

I have a song  in my head as I think about this post.  In the words of Gloria Estefan:

Get on your feet
Get up and make it happen
Get on your feet
Stand up and take some action

If you click here, it’ll take you to the rest of the lyrics, and there’s an icon you can click on to play the song.  Such an energizing song!  When I hear it, I want to get on my feet and get going, and I want to take some action.  It’s a great jam!

I got to thinking about that song as I was leaving my apartment complex to walk to the school to pick up my boys.  As I was leaving, another mom was also headed, on foot to the same school to pick up her little boy.  Today, was actually the first time I’ve ever talked to her.  Though we both make the walk every weekday, we usually head out before or after one another.  Anyhow, I would love to share this image of her with you.  It’s inspiring, and I wanted to take a picture, but having just met her, I felt it inappropriate.  You’ll have to use your imagination.  So, here’s this young mom with her 4 month-old baby in a baby carrier, on her chest.  She has denim capris on.  In one back pocket, she has her cell phone sticking out.  In the other, she has a baby bottle.  She makes that same walk, all geared up the same way, every school-day morning and afternoon.

It may look like the rubber tire would just snap back on, it's actually stretched out and wont stay on.  It's taken a beating from pushing a 4 year-old and having weights in the bottom for park workouts.

It may look like the rubber tire would just snap back on, it’s actually stretched out and wont stay on. It’s taken a beating from pushing a 4 year-old and having weights in the bottom for park workouts.

My own walk has taken a bit of a twist recently.  My stroller wheel came off.  I actually did some crazy things to try to fix it.  I took screws, a screwdriver, and duct tape to it.  It looked so crazy, but I did get two more weeks out of it.  Honestly, the 4 year-old could make the walk, but with him the walk took a lot longer.  I was trying to avoid that.  In the end, I gave up.  The stroller was dying, and I was not replacing a stroller for a 4 year-old.  Now, we race for short spurts, and we enjoy the fresh air.  Sometimes, I throw on ankle weights, a weighted vest, and wrist weights to add resistance, since I am no longer pushing a stroller.  Other days, I end up carrying my little guy.  I’ve actually carried him the entire way there and back more than once.

This is what I look like with my ankle weights, vest, and wrist weights on.  It's kind of fun to get all geared up and go walking.

This is what I look like with my ankle weights, vest, and wrist .weights on. It’s kind of fun to get all geared up and go walking.

Most days, here in El Paso, are warm and sunny.  However, occasionally, in the winter, it does get cold.  It even drops below freezing.  We just throw on our coats, perhaps a hat and scarf, and go on our walk.  It’s great “together” time.  We laugh and talk.  It’s the best time to talk about how the boys’ day was at school.  One of our most memorable walks, was the time we got poured on.  It was warm outside, so it felt really good.  We laughed so hard!  It was such a good time.

The little guy in the front isn't soaked.  He was under the stroller visor, but the rest of us definitely got wet.  Such a fun memory!

The little guy in the front isn’t soaked. He was under the stroller visor, but the rest of us definitely got wet. Such a fun memory!

Yesterday, my boys did not have school, and my husband was off from work.  We decided to enjoy some family time, together, at the zoo.  I love when we go to the zoo.  It’s so fun to see all of the animals. My boys don’t even realize how much walking they’re actually doing because they’re having so much fun checking out all of the different animals.

It takes most people 2-3 hours to visit the zoo.  Walking is a great way to burn calories.

It takes most people 2-3 hours to visit the zoo. Walking is a great way to burn calories.

I love walking!  If I have to drive somewhere, I like to park far away.  Partly, it’s because I can’t stand all of the crazy cars.  However, I also just really enjoy walking.  Have you ever seen someone drive around in circles in a parking lot, waiting for one of the front spaces to open up?  I’ve seen some people do this for what seems like ten minutes!  It makes me laugh because often times, I can actually park far away, and still get in the building before they even park.  Not only that, but I get to walk, enjoy the fresh air, and I beat them into the building!

“Park here to walk farther and be healthier,” is the coolest thing I have ever seen painted on a parking space! Why that spot is empty, I don’t understand!

2 comments on “Get On Your Feet, Get Up And Make It Happen!

  1. Karen
    May 27, 2015

    I agree with the driving around up and down lanes to get a close one. Not worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think Ive succombed to that when there was thunder and lightning, and I had my kids with me. However, under normal circumstances, I prefer to park far away. I am a walker. I enjoy walking.

      Like

Leave a Reply

