Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Vitamix Got A Boo Boo – Part 1

My Vitamix  had to go to the repair shop.  I thought I’d share the process for other Vitamix owners.

get well

It’s always a sad day when someone gets a boo boo.  It’s also a sad day when your all-time favorite, small kitchen appliance gets a boo boo.  I was devastated when this happened.  I still am.  I think I will be devastated right until my Vitamix is returned to me with a clean bill of health from the wonderful Vitamix repair doctors.  I think it’s going to need a container transplant.  I’m no expert, but I don’t think this container is repairable.

broken vitamix

The blade had gotten loose.  Don’t get me wrong, these machines are hardcore!  My poor Vitamix takes such a beating from me.  I use it so much!  I use it anywhere from 1 to 5 times a day!  I’m not even exaggerating!  It’s great for mixing, blending, chopping, and flouring.  It’s my go-to for everything.  I eat a very whole foods, plant-based, paleoish diet.  I make almost everything using my Vitamix.  I never wanted to imagine my life without it, but here I am living it.  Ugh!  Not fun!

Anyway, when the blade got loose, I tried to tighten it.  Apparently, I did not do it well.  While blending up a protein shake one day, my Vitamix became exceptionally loud, and then, there was protein shake everywhere.  Initially, I didn’t know what had happened.  In fact, I was confused as to the mess because the lid was still on.  Then, I opened it up.  It was basically empty, but I saw the giant hole.  I couldn’t believe it!  I immediately flipped it around and stared at it.

Vitamix

I immediately called Vitamix in a state of panic.  I had to get this fixed no matter what.  It’s been years since I’d bought my Vitamix.  I couldn’t remember how the warranty worked.  I googled Vitamix and went to their “Contact Us” page.  I called the number for household support and sales, 800.848.2649.  Luckily, I’d purchased my Vitamix directly from Vitamix, so it was already registered.  If you have a Vitamix purchased from somewhere else, I would suggest you register yours.  I’m not sure what the process is if you don’t have yours registered.  For me, they were able to look me up very quickly using a number printed on the base of my Vitamix blender.

ups tracking label

Once the woman I spoke with at Vitamix had my information pulled up, she was able to email me a UPS shipping label so I could send my Vitamix in for repairs.  Should you ever have to send your Vitamix in for repairs not covered under the warranty, the woman I spoke with informed me that the charge is $158.  As of right now, I’m extremely sad that I don’t have my Vitamix.  Apparently, it will be 3 weeks from the time they receive my Vitamix before I will have it back.

I’ll give an update once I receive my Vitamix back from the Vitamix repair doctors.  As much as I love my Vitamix, and as much as I use it, I really wasn’t aware of the warranty process.  I think it’s good to share the process so other Vitamix owners or future owners (as I still LOVE mine) can be aware of the process.

One comment on “Vitamix Got A Boo Boo – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Road Trip Prep – Part 2 | Mireille's Journey To Health

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2015 by in Nutrition.
