Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Road Trip Prep – Part 1

In a week, I will be on the road, going from southern Texas to Utah.  In Utah, I will be meeting up with other family members, and then we will all convoy up to Alberta, Canada.  It’s a huge trip.  I will be reuniting with family that I haven’t seen in almost 10 years!  I am so excited, but a little nervous, too.  I can’t wait to see my family, but staying healthy on a trip can be a struggle.  I’ve explained in previous posts that I wear my belly aches on the outside.  I definitely don’t want a 5 months pregnant-looking belly ache.  I want to keep my belly and it’s digestive processes happy.  What this means, is planning.  I have to plan and prepare.  Being a week out from the trip, planning starts now.  My blog is going to be high-jacked by this trip until it’s over, as it is the main thing on my mind.  However, I feel like posts about staying healthy on a road trip are a great idea.  It’s the beginning of road trip season, so hopefully those of you who have travel plans can benefit from some of my road trip posts.  Let me take you through my preparations from today.

passport

First thing this morning, I called the passport office in Canada.  I hadn’t received my passport yet.  A week out from the trip is cutting it really close.  Luckily, the girl I spoke with told me it had shipped Thursday.  What do you know, an hour later, FedEx was at my door delivering it.  What a huge relief.

raw onion

I’m planning to bring a ton of veggie chips on this trip.  I love all of my chip recipes, and intend to bring several.  Today’s chips did not require a recipe.  I happened to have a purple onion in the fridge.  I needed just one slice of it to make my Tropical Coconut Lime Chicken yesterday.  I decided to slice up the rest of it, separate the rings, and dry them to a crisp.

oven

Onion chips can be seasoned, but they’re so flavorful on their own that they really don’t need it.  I just left my plain and let them dry in the oven at it’s lowest setting for about 4 hours.  They are crispy! Wahoo!

onion chips

A few weeks ago, I started thinking about how I could accrue several silica, oxygen absorbing packets.  Some people suggested I buy them on Amazon, others said that they were not healthy or environmentally safe.  My friend, Susan gave me a great idea.  She suggested making small rice sachets.

making rice sachets

Rice is great for absorbing moisture.  I fell in love with the idea, immediately.  So, I happened to have this black lacey shirt that I never cared for.  I’ve been meaning to give it away or do something with it.  I cut it into several small squares.  I placed a small amount of rice (just over a tablespoon) in the center of each one.  I secured them with some twine I happened to have.

rice sachet

They look like something you’d keep in a lingerie chest, but they are actually going to be in my veggie chips, helping to keep them crisp.  Guess my chips will look very high-end!  How funny!

Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Muffins

Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Muffins

I made a batch of Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Muffins.  They came out amazing.  Luckily, I made a big batch.  I’m going to freeze some for when we head out on our road trip.  I can already imagine us rushing out the door early in the morning.  None of us get any breakfast.  Next thing we know, my husband is attempting to buy us all breakfast at a gas station.  Umm… no.  Not going to happen.  This is where planning ahead comes into play.  If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.  So, here I have these amazing muffins, already prepared.

Warm muffin with butter.

Warm muffin with butter.

Ok, so that’s where my preparations are so far, but I’ll continue to post as I continue to prepare these next few days.

One comment on “Road Trip Prep – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Road Trip Prep – Part 2 | Mireille's Journey To Health

Leave a Reply

