Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Road Trip Prep – Part 3

Homemade Sweet Potato Chips

Homemade Sweet Potato Chips

I’ve continued working on my road trip preparations.  Yesterday, I made some delicious sweet potato chips.  I must say, making all of these chips for the trip has been torture.  It’s so hard to smell the aromas of them baking in the oven, and knowing I have to wait to eat them.  They always smell so good!

Clothes laid out to ensure I've got everything together.

Clothes laid out to ensure I’ve got everything together.

While the sweet potato chips were in the oven, I continued on my packing spree.  It takes so much more time and so much more thinking to pack for a trip when you have kids.  I have 3 boys.  My oldest is 9, my middle boy is a month shy of 7, and my youngest is 4.  If I let them pack for themselves, they’d have a Halloween costume for each day of the trip, probably no socks or underwear, and shoes that don’t match.  So, I thought about the itinerary for each day of this trip, and wen through myself and each child.  While I hate over-packing, I also hate under-packing.  I basically laid it all out on the table and reviewed everything a couple of times.

Wahoo!  The suitcase is packed!

Wahoo! The suitcase is packed!

With everything laid out, I was able to make sure I had everything.  Once I got everything together, I was able to get it all packed into the suitcase.  When my husband got home, we worked together to get his things packed into the suitcase, as well.  I can’t tell you what a relief it is to know that the suitcase is already packed with all of our clothes.  It’s so nice to be able to completely check something off the list.

Time for shots.

Time for shots.

So, those are all things I got done yesterday.  Today, the first thing I did to get ready was a trip to the vet.  My goofy, little poodle needed some shots in order to be boarded.  The whole family went to the vet to be there for our dog getting his shots.  He’s actually joining us on the first part of our trip, but will be boarded in Utah with my sister’s dog while we’re in Canada.  Yes! Dog shots done – another thing to check off the list.

Maple Bacon Sweet Potato Chips

Maple Bacon Sweet Potato Chips

Once we were home, I got my last batch of veggie chips in the oven.  I made some maple bacon sweet potato chips.  I love the variety of flavors I get when using different vegetables, and different seasonings.

Honey Lime Vinaigrette

Honey Lime Vinaigrette

The last thing I made for my trip was a salad dressing.  I made a honey lime vinaigrette from my chicken salad recipe.  I multiplied the recipe by 5 so I would have plenty.  Condiments are easily forgotten when prepping for a road trip.  However, if you like to eat a certain way, such as to avoid foods or to maintain certain nutritional values, you should really bring your own condiments.  It’s the safest way to dress your food to your standards when you are on a trip.  I love using these sports shaker cups to store condiments.  They’re easy to shake up, easy to pour, and easy to close.

Alright, well, I’m getting there.  We leave Monday morning, so that leaves me 2 days to complete my preparations.  I feel like I’m very much on track.  I’ll let you know what more I get done.

2 comments on “Road Trip Prep – Part 3

  1. Karen
    June 13, 2015

    Wow! Good organizing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

