Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Road Trip Prep – Part 4 – Ready 2 Roll!

Honey Mustard Zucchini Chips

Honey Mustard Zucchini Chips

This is my last post about road trip preparation.  Tomorrow, I hit the road, and I’ll be sharing how I’m able to keep it “healthy” and on track while on the road.  I decided to make one last batch of chips.  These are my Honey Mustard Zucchini Chips.  They have a fun, tangy bite to them.

oil change

Oil Change, For A Safe Drive

This road trip is pretty big.  We are driving from El Paso, Texas to Salt Lake City, Utah, to Calgary, Alberta, Canada.  Oh, and then, we are doing the same thing backwards.  In total, the trip is about 3,000 miles.  We got our oil changed and tires rotated to help ensure a safe trip.  A breakdown in this heat could be very dangerous.

The Boys Got Haircuts

The Boys Got Haircuts

In order to have my boys looking nice for this trip, I gave them each a haircut.  They are styling!  You’ll see when I post pictures from our trip.  I have serious barbering skills!

Picked Up A Few Things For The Trip.

Picked Up A Few Things For The Trip.

Yes, I’ve been making veggie chips everyday for a week now, but this is a long trip.  We hit the store and picked up some more treats.  I’ll show you what we picked up later in this post.

For a stress-free trip, we made sure all of our bills were paid.  Our apartment lease was up the end of this month.  We went ahead and renewed it.  One of the awesome perks of renewing our lease was a free carpet cleaning.  I can’t tell you how good it feels to know the carpets are all freshly cleaned and will look wonderful when we return!

Workout Gear For The Road.  Missing From Picture Is My Yoga Mat.

Workout Gear For The Road. Missing From Picture Is My Yoga Mat.

While I’m going on this trip with an open mind, knowing my regular workout routine will probably not work on this trip (it’s a huge family reunion with a structured itinerary), I am still going to do my best to squeeze in workouts when I can.  I packed my weight vest, ankle weights, and wrist weights.  I packed my ab wheel, jump rope, and a variety of resistance bands.  I also packed my yoga mat, though it is not in the picture.

All Of That Gear Fits In This Small Bag,

All Of That Gear Fits In This Small Bag.

The picture of the Grumpy bag may seem silly, but I wanted to show you that I was able to squeeze all of that workout gear into this small bag.  It’s a little heavy because of the weighted equipment, but not too bad.

Celery Sticks

Celery Sticks

With all of my veggie chips, you might wonder why I have these celery sticks, but sometimes it’s nice to bite into a fresh, crisp, juicy vegetable.  Celery sticks are great because they aren’t messy.

Kombucha Is Packed.

Kombucha Is Packed.

I bottled my kombucha.  I am so excited to have kombucha for this trip!  You’ll notice the majority of my kombucha is bottled in washed and cleaned molasses jars.  Someday, I’ll have nice bottles, but I keep it real.  I’m a new kombucha brewer, and I am working with what I have so far.  Because the lids are metal, there is saran wrap under each lid.

Fresh Fruit.

Fresh Fruit.

I can’t make it through a day without fresh fruit.  I have bananas, peaches, and strawberries.  My body feels good when I eat fresh produce, and I want to feel good so I can enjoy my trip.

Veggie Chips Are Bagged.

Veggie Chips Are Bagged.

Here’s a view of all of my veggie chips that I’ve been making all week.  I have them all bagged with rice sachets in each bag to absorb the moisture.

Sunflower Seeds.

Sunflower Seeds.

I happened to have sunflower seeds in my pantry.  They’re a healthy fat and protein source.  I poured them in a bag and packed them with my snacks.

Beef Jerky

Beef Jerky

I love beef jerky!  It’s a favorite road trip treat.  It’s a great way to pack meat when it is crazy hot outside.  Look for a jerky with a low sodium content.  The more natural your jerky is, the better.

Keeping It Real Kids Treats.

Keeping It Real Kids Treats.

Now, this last picture is one that I thought twice about sharing.  I look at it and the gummy bears and fruit loops scream artificial colors and flavors.  The pretzels scream sodium.  These are snacks my kids picked out.  I’m actually proud of the nuts they picked.  Unfortunately, I can’t share the nuts with them because I’m allergic to both the peanuts and pistachios.  However, I’m glad they’ll be eating them.  Anyway, while I wish my kids wouldn’t pick treats like fruit loops, gummy bears, and pretzels, these are things they really wanted.  These are things I used to love as a kid.  This is our vacation.  It’s their vacation.  I don’t regularly buy these kinds of snacks and at the end of the day, I want them to indulge in their treats of choice on this trip.  It’s a special time for all of us.  Not to mention, I want them to know that no food is off limits, but that treats like these are for special occasions.

Leave a Reply

