Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

$3 Zoodles? Who knew!

spiralizer

Today, I want to share with you all, my latest kitchen gadget.  It is amazing and inexpensive!  Now, I have to state my disclaimer here: I am not affiliated with the producers of this product in anyway.  I have not been asked by anyone to advertise this product.  I’m posting this because it’s a great bargain find.  I love it.  I thought sharing this might benefit someone else who would like one but couldn’t afford a big splurge.  Also, another big disclaimer: This particular spiral slicer is from the Dollarama in Canada, and as far as I’m aware, cannot be purchased online.  However, I’ve posted links to some that can be purchased online for almost the same price.  I’ll do my best to update the list as I find more inexpensive spiral slicers.

I have a confession.  I am cheap.  Seriously.  I don’t like to spend money.  When my family moved from Chateauguay, Canada, all the way to Salt Lake City, Utah, my family took a huge financial hit.  It was a bad time for Quebec’s economy, so my parents took a loss on their house.  Plus, my dad, grandpa and Uncle were starting up their own business in Utah.  In the beginning, money was very tight for my parents.  I remember when I was 11, we would go around putting flyers up on people’s doors to generate business.  We were on free lunch.  I remember seeing my mom cry from all of the stress.  It was a rough time.  My sisters and I would babysit for some of the neighbors to earn our own money.  Let me tell you, we knew how to hunt for bargains and stretch a dollar.  Anyway, my dad has worked hard and done very well, but I’m so grateful that we struggled because I learned so much.  As a mom, I can make the stretch the groceries, find bargains, and make do or do without, very well.  All of which are great skills for a mom to have.

This takes me to my next point.  My main point, today, actually.  Zoodles!  They’ve become so popular, but you need a spiral slicer to make them.  I didn’t have one.  For someone who plays in the kitchen as often as I do, I really don’t have a lot of fancy pots, pans, or utensils. I make do.  Though, I do have a Vitamix.  It was a tax return present to myself about 7 years ago, but that’s a whole different story.  Other than the Vitamix, it’s all very basic.

Last month, while visiting with family in Canada, my super thoughtful cousin gave me my very own spiral slicer.  I kept my cool because she’s quite a bit more sophisticated than I, but inside I was bouncing off the walls!  I’d wanted one forever!  Well, check this out!  It didn’t even cost her much.  It was only $3!  Yep, it’s true.  She actually discovered these at her dollar store.  All of this time, I’d been putting off buying one, and it was only $3.

spiral slicer

Yes, there are some far more expensive ones.  You can pay quite a bit.  No doubt they are sturdier and have some fancy functions that mine does not.  So, you’re probably wondering, if mine was only $3 is the product itself cheap?  Well, the body of the spiral slicer is plastic, it is in no way flimsy.  It is sturdy as can be.  The blades are all metal and cut very well.  All you do, is cut off the end of the vegetable, insert it into the slicer, and twist with a gentle force.  As you continue to twist, it creates beautiful julienne strips.  It includes a finger guard for when the zucchini (or vegetable of choice) gets shorter.  It’s dishwasher safe.  It even has 2 slicing sizes.

zoodles

After spiraling my zucchini into a bowl full of zoodles, I like to soak up some of the moisture.  Zucchini’s are so juicy in the middle, and I don’t want a sloppy mess.  I wrap my freshly spiraled zoodle’s in a dishcloth until it’s absorbed all it can, and then I repeat once more in another dishcloth.

wrapped in towel

Zoodles are a great noodle alternative.  They are gluten, dairy, and egg free.  They are a great way to sneak in another serving of vegetables.  You can toss cold zoodles in a little oil and vinegar, add some olives, mushrooms, and green peppers for a delicious no-pasta salad.  You can heat them in a little oil, steamer or microwave and top with your favorite pasta sauce.  I don’t recommend immersing them is a lot of liquid.  They can easily become a sloppy mess.  Definitely do not boil them.  The sky is the limit.

Ok, so now you want one, right?  Well, the one I have can be found at the Dollarama in Canada.  Here are links you can check out for others which are about the same price (note: ebay also had quite a few for about the same price, sometimes cheaper).

Buy Top Electronics

Tiny Deal

DHGate

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2015 by in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , .
