Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Running – Love It Or Hate It, It Is Soo Good For You

I'm always sweaty and flushed after a run.  I think it's sad when people, typically women, hold back from their potential because they want to stay

I’m always sweaty and flushed after a run. I think it’s sad when people, typically women, hold back from their potential because they want to stay “pretty” through the workout.

I am not normally a runner.  Every once in a while, I feel like going for a run, and I go.  Running has great benefits.  It’s great cardio.  It can improve bone health.  It can lift a person’s mood and improve their concentration, boost a person’s general athletic performance.  In can also really support self-defense and personal safety.  Just imagine having to run for your life!  Running away could mean survival!

Funny meme, but it can be a very serious matter.

Funny meme, but it can be a very serious matter.

Recently, I decided I wanted to work on my running. It’s been a while. I really like to mix things up.  In the moment, I definitely don’t enjoy this mix up, but afterward (once I’ve completed my run, and lived) I am so darn proud of myself!  In high school, I used to run with a friend or one of my sisters.  We did more of a jog.  It was definitely a lot slower, but it was a good time.  We would run around the subdivision and talk about life.  I don’t want to be a jogger, I want to be a runner.  If I’m going to go slow, I’d rather just walk fast.  What can I say? My perspective has changed and I like to push myself harder.

Army Physical Fitness Standards

Army Physical Fitness Standards

When it comes to time, I need a goal.  I like having a standard to hold myself to.  I like having a guide.  The image above shows the standard that the U.S. army upholds amongst their soldiers.  Being a military spouse, I tend to use their standards as my guide.  I did also find a guide on the LiveStrong website.  Good Run Guide actually has this really cool “age-grading” system with a calculator, graphs, and percentages.  Likewise, Running Free also has a very cool calculator and graph system.

Currently, I’m two weeks back into running.  I run twice a week, leaving me time to strength train, practice yoga, and rest.  So, I haven’t been back at it for long, but I can feel my body going, “Hello!  Ok, yes!  I remember this!”  That’s a silly way of putting it, but it’s very on point.

treadmill picture

As I mentioned earlier, there are standards/guides to see where your run-time, based on your age, would rank you.  I’m decent, but not where I want to be.  Right now, I’m focused on getting my body used to just running.  In a few weeks, I’m going to start adding more sprints and various running drills to help me get a little faster.

slow

I love the saying, “No matter how fast you’re going, you’re still lapping everyone on the coach.”  So many people choose to sit on the coach.  Just putting your running shoes on and pushing yourself to get moving (at whatever speed/pace) already makes you amazing, and puts you ahead of so many people!  You don’t have to win races.  Push yourself as you see fit.

19 comments on “Running – Love It Or Hate It, It Is Soo Good For You

  1. ranu802
    July 22, 2015

    Mireille good luck with your running.I know you will do well. You have determination on your side, so keep running.:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eric
    July 22, 2015

    Great post about your new goal of working on Running. I have never looked before but I am going to look back at my average pace now to see how I stack up to people my age. Also, the quote at the bottom about people on the couch is just great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      July 22, 2015

      Right! Towards the end of my post, I got to thinking, I didn’t want to leave people feeling that they needed to meet their “age-grade.” I wanted to reiterate that, hey, you are doing it and that is great! I think the age thing is just something fun to aim towards. It’s good to have a goal.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. cravethecookbook
    July 22, 2015

    Good on you! I’ve been a runner forever and my brain needs it more than my body! And by the way…you ARE a runner…as long as you are moving you’re a runner. In my world, ‘jogging’ doesn’t exist! Good luck !

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Makenzie Beardsley
    July 22, 2015

    That’s my workout mantra! If you look cute when you’re done working out, then you haven’t worked hard enough.

    Keep it up girl! The high after running is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      July 22, 2015

      OMG! Makenzie, I have to say, my apartment has the weakest AC, so I run in 90 degree heat or hotter, and after I’m done, I’m still in 90 degree heat. It’s been killing my runner’s high! I jump in the shower and make it sooo cold! Once I’m out, it’s back to the heat. I’m looking forward to cooler weather. Lol I actually enjoy running in cooler weather. In this heat, I kind of loathe it. Lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • Makenzie Beardsley
        July 22, 2015

        I like running in cooler weather too! I don’t know how you run in that heat, I wanna pass out! I prefer 50’s for a temp

        Liked by 1 person

      • mireillesjourneytohealth
        July 22, 2015

        Oh, it’s been tough. I think I just focus on the fact that, if I can do it in the heat like this, in cooler weather, it’ll be a breeze. And I am seriously so darn stubborn when I commit to things. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

  5. buggleboo
    July 26, 2015

    I just started running again– I have struggled with Achilles Tendonitis but recently discovered that running on the Curve treadmill doesn’t put the same kind of stress on my feet as street running does. I’m using a Couch to 5k app and am really excited to get into it! I’m really into ‘functional’ exercises, especially for cardio.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 22, 2015 by in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , .
