Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

You’re A Runner… Guest Post By Nicole From Crave The Cookbook

running shoes

I’m extremely excited about this post by Nicole from www.cravethecookbook.com.  Nicole is an experienced runner who agreed to share some of her wisdom with us!  I can’t tell begin to express how happy her post made me as I am just getting back into running.  This is such an inspirational post it actually gave me goose bumps.  Read it, and then head over to www.cravethecookbook.com for some running/biking inspiration and healthy recipes.  They have a really cool Refreshing Mint Chia Lemonade, which is perfect during these hot summer days.

Alright, here is Nicole…

You’re a Runner…

I was pleasantly surprised to be asked to guest blog on http://mireillesjourneytohealth.com/.

I was inspired reading her post the other day about getting back into running.  I couldn’t help but comment on it and give her some words of encouragement.  I have been a runner for what seems like forever.  It has been over 25 years for me and when Mireille asked me to share some of my running wisdom with her, I was flattered.  This challenge gave me a chance to look back on the miles I have ran over the years and compile a little bit of wisdom I have gained by slogging it out on the roads and trails of Hamilton, Ontario.

The line that caught my eye in Mireille’s post was that she ‘didn’t want to be a jogger’.  I can identify with this.  Whoever came up with the term ‘jogger?’ I’m running.  What is the difference between running and jogging?  That’s right, there isn’t one.  So hence, I am a runner.  No matter how far I go. No matter how fast I go.  I run.  Always remember that.

Depending on your fitness levels, everyone has a starting point.  The main thing is not to overdo it. Make gains slowly and patiently.  Feel good about your distance but yet challenged.

Many runners find that mixing walking and running works well for them.  There is no shame in this method; in fact there are many runners who use this during races with fantastic results and suffer way less injuries.  They have also found that taking the scheduled walk breaks helps to break up the run into distance bits which can help mentally.  Knowing you have a break coming up every 5 or 10 minutes gives back the control to you, the runner.  Many feel refreshed and renewed after a short walk and end up feeling great during the running portion.  There are many calculators you can use online to determine how many minutes of running versus walking depending on how fast you want to finish a race or run.  Of course, if you are a beginner, the ratio is weighted towards the walking but that can change as fitness levels increase.  There is really no need to run non-stop if this method works for you.  In fact, you’ll probably finish a race faster and feeling better than those who run non-stop.

Stretching is definitely an area where we can all be more proactive.  Static stretches are good use before your run but if you feel at all tight during your run, stop, and stretch it out.  You may find that the warm muscles have a chance to loosen up much more easily than before the run.  When you start up again, you may find the rest of the run is easier. Good recovery stretching is very important to prevent injury and to help in recovery of muscles.  It is the difference between feeling good the next morning, and being very stiff.  If you like Yoga, your favourite class is always good to do as a recovery as well.  Yoga can work very well for runners for not only the stretching but also for the development and toning of the upper body.  Try out different types of Yoga too.  You don’t have to be sweaty and exhausted to have had a good Yoga class.  An evening candlelight restorative class may just be what your body wants, so listen.

The main thing is to keep going.  We all have peanut butter runs…those runs where you feel like you’re running through peanut butter.  Even elite runners do.  Don’t be discouraged. Finish it and log it.  Try not to worry much about time, unless you are in training for a race and that is important to you.  You have taken the hardest step; the one off the couch and out the door.

Thanks again to Mireille for allowing me to share this with you.  Follow her blog…she has great tips!   You can find more from me and my sister-in-law, Val at www.cravethecookbook.com.

Happy Running!

8 comments on “You’re A Runner… Guest Post By Nicole From Crave The Cookbook

  1. amanpan
    July 25, 2015

    Great idea to have Nicole as your guest and all is very informative.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ranu802
    July 25, 2015

    Dear Mireilles , thank you and your guest for the remarkable post. I liked the recipe for apricot so much I reblogged it, I hope you don’t mind.
    Once again many thanks to you and your guest. The recipe will come in handy for me and my friends who follow my blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      July 25, 2015

      Oh! Awesome! I love interaction in the blogging community. It’s something I’m trying to improve on, personally. It seems keeping up my own blog takes so much time, I have to play catch up big time on everyone else’s blogs about 2 days a week. Hopefully, I’ll get a little better. I think when we interact, our own blogs are better because they have a stronger foundation. I love guest posts! I love reblogs! I love comments! I love sharing other people’s blogs! For anyone who has a great healthy living post that wants to share it on my Facebook page, feel free to post it to my page, as well. I think it’s great!

      Like

  3. cravethecookbook
    July 25, 2015

    I was so happy when I got up to check the feed this morning! Thanks so much for having our blog highlighted and for giving me the opportunity to guest blog. I will be posting a link on ours to you for our readers to check out your great ideas! Happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      July 25, 2015

      Oh of course! I really LOVED this post. As I’m just getting back into running, this really motivated me. It made me feel like, yeah, I’m a runner! And I do have days when I’m running through peanut butter. Now I know, hey, even the great runners feel like this. Great post! I shared your post in a few places on Facebook and pinned it, as well. I hope I’m able to send more readers your way, as your blog is awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. pinkjewels
    July 25, 2015

    Reblogged this on pinkjewels.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 25, 2015 by in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , .
