Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Study Recap Saturday Kick Off!

Books

Wouldn’t it be great to help a mother get in such good shape she could play with her kids at the park, rather than watch from the bench? I want to give people quality of life. Let the studying begin…

The package above came in the mail yesterday.  It was like Christmas in July!!!  I mentioned on the Facebook page that I’ve registered to get my personal trainer certification.  I got my bachelor of science in nutrition science a few years ago.  The goal since has been to get my masters and finally become a registered dietician.  Alas, I am a military wife and we never get stationed in a great spot to complete the schooling for that.  I’m still playing around with some ideas to get it started soon, but the fool-proof backup plan is to get it once my husband is retired.  It’s actually not too far away.  Just a few more years.

In the meantime, I am just a lover of learning, and I’m not about to waste time waiting!  There’s a program for military spouse’s called MyCAA, and it gives $4,000 to military spouses to put towards their education resulting in an associate’s degree, or some type of approved technical certification.  It’s based on the sponsor’s rank, so not all spouse’s qualify, but for those who do, it’s a great program.  I just signed up to get my personal trainer certification through ACE Fitness.  It was really easy, and when my books arrived yesterday, I was beyond delighted!

Technically, I don’t start my program until August 10th, but I’m a healthy living geek, so I’m already reading my books.  I enjoy learning, so I literally read my textbooks cover to cover.  It’s so exciting.  I’m officially kicking off a recurring event today.  I’m calling it “Study Recap Saturday.”  It’s going to be great for all of us.  Ya’ll can learn along with me, and by sharing things I’ve learned through my studies, I’ll retain more information.  It’s a win-win.

The first chapter of the book talked about the role of the personal trainer, and about some of the career paths someone with a personal training certification might follow.  My goal is not to train the next body building champion.  Training a body builder or two could be fun, and I’d gladly do it, but my goal is to help people become healthy.  I want to help people who are out of shape and unhealthy learn how to get in shape and eat right (hence the nutrition studies).  I want to help people get so healthy they don’t find themselves taking so much medication.  I want to help a mom or dad get in shape so they can play tag with their kids.  I want to help kids learn how to eat and workout so they can have every fun opportunity available to them.  I want to give people quality of life.

There’s a few more certifications available that could help me with my goals.  Through, MyCAA you can only work through one at a time.  It’s a good thing.  It’s helping me focus.  However, I’m definitely excited and am already trying to figure out which certification to go for next.  I’m open to suggestions, too, if you have any.

The second chapter of the book talked about motivation.  I know from trying to get friends to come workout, it is hard to get people motivated.  They really have to want it for themselves.  The book talked about genuinely caring, and I do.  I wish it was as easy as saying, “Come with me.  Let me help you.”  Getting started is the hardest part.  I like to tell people to get a great set of workout clothes.  Something fun!  Something you want to put on!  If you do that, then you just need to put your shoes on.  Maybe you have a great pair of shoes, too?  I do.  I’ve learned what a difference good shoes make.  Mine happen to be cute.  I love putting them on.  Anyway, once your shoes are laced up, you’re ready!  If you work out at home, turn the music on.  It really helps you get pumped up.  Trust me.  If you workout at the gym, just get in your car and drive to the parking lot.  Next thing you know, you’ll be walking in the door.  If you run outside, just start walking til all of a sudden you find yourself wanting to run.  Like I said, starting is the hardest part.

That’s my recap so far.  Class hasn’t started yet, so for now you’re just getting my reading summaries and post-reading thoughts.  I’m so excited to continue this program, and I can’t wait for class to start.  I want to learn everything.  I would definitely love a good mentor as I continue my studies.  And tips and suggestions are ALWAYS welcome!

4 comments on “Study Recap Saturday Kick Off!

  1. ranu802
    July 26, 2015

    Mireille it’s wonderful to read about your studies and you’re already reading the books.I know you’ll do well you’re so motivated. I’d love to read more about your certification. All the best to you. Ranu

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      July 26, 2015

      Thank you, Ranu! Actually, yesterday, I found out I can access my assignments already, too. So, I’m officially started. I am motivated. I think when you find that topic that captures your interest, it’s easy to study and seek out educational opportunities because you want to learn.

      Like

  2. amanpan
    July 26, 2015

    Congratulations. I know you will do well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2015 by in Study Recap and tagged , , , .
