Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Study Recap Saturday: 10 Interesting Anatomy & Physiology Facts

Books

There’s a lot of complex terminology when it comes to anatomy and physiology.  It’s always been a tough subject for me to retain all of the specifics.  While working on my bachelors of science in nutrition, anatomy and physiology was a semester-long, class of its own.  In this personal trainer program it’s only one chapter.  You can imagine how intense the chapter is!  Luckily, I have a pretty strong understanding of the digestive system at this point, and a basic understanding of the other body systems.  Still, there is so, so much I need to learn.  I love doing these study recap posts, as they help me retain so much more.   Today, I’m just going to share what I consider to be interesting facts.

1)In the cardiovascular system, did you know that the arteries take the freshly oxygenated blood away from your heart and the veins bring back the somewhat oxygen depleted blood?  This is a general rule.  There are exceptions.  For example, there’s the pulmonary arteries that take oxygen depleted blood from the right atrium of the heart (one of the chambers on the right side) to the lungs, where it releases carbon dioxide and picks up fresh oxygen.  Then, the pulmonary veins return the oxygen-rich blood to the left atrium.

2)You’ve heard of plasma, no doubt.  Did you know your plasma is actually responsible for transporting your hormones?  Yes, that is how those goofy things that can make you get a little crazy from time to time get around.  It carries other things, too, such as plasma proteins, food materials, ions, and gases.

3)Here’s a common sense one, but an interesting perspective on it.  The respiratory system is a means of your bodily tissues to exchange gases with the external environment.  I thought that was a very interesting way of looking at it, and though it’s so obvious, I’d never thought of it that way before.

4)Apparently, at rest, humans breathe 5-6 liters of air per minute.  Guess how much they drink during exercise?  A whopping 20 to 30 liters!  That’s at least 4 times as much!

5)Did you know, that just because you’ve eaten something, it’s not considered to be in your body?  Because your gastrointestinal tract (digestive tract) goes from your mouth to your anus, it’s like a giant tunnel through your body, and not considered to be inside your body.  For food to be considered in your body, it has to be absorbed out of the tunnel and into your body.

6)Did you know after you swallow a mouthful of food, that mouthful of food is then referred to as a bolus?

7)I was fascinated to learn that are bones are not just static and constant.  They’re constantly breaking down, releasing minerals, and rebuilding.

8)Form follows function.  Your bones form based on the conditions with which they exist.  So, an active person typically has denser bones than someone who is constantly laying in bed.

9)You’ve heard of “Fight or flight,” I’m sure.  Did you know, your body’s fight or flight response is activated by your sympathetic nervous system.  Upon it’s activation, just about every organ in your body stops storing energy and sends all of its resources to help you deal with the stressing situation.

10)Ever wonder how your body knows where all of its “parts” are with regard to its surrounding environment?  It has sensors, not only in the skin, but also in and around the joints, muscles, and inside of your ears, called proprioceptors.

Well, there you have it.  I hope you learned something new.  I may recap on the same topic next week because there is a ton of vocabulary and new details that I haven’t learned before.  I want to make sure I am able to learn all that I can.

8 comments on “Study Recap Saturday: 10 Interesting Anatomy & Physiology Facts

  1. Spiritdancing
    August 9, 2015

    Wow…great post and loads of great info…thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      August 9, 2015

      Wow! Thanks! I don’t always know how well my study recap posts will be received, but they’ve been so helpful for me and my studying, so I continue to post them. I am so, so glad that you enjoyed it! Thank you for letting me know!

      Like

  2. Ivan Proust
    August 9, 2015

    Number 5 really got me thinking.
    : )

    Liked by 1 person

  3. amanpan
    August 9, 2015

    Great information and thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lolettestephenson
    August 13, 2015

    Wow lots of good info there

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2015 by in Study Recap and tagged , , , , .
