Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Putting Together A Workout Program

weekly calendar

I got asked about my workout routine the other day.  I’m going to share it with you, but I want to reiterate that your workout program should be customized to you, your body, and your goals.  It has to be something you don’t loathe doing too terribly.  It could be a great workout program, but if you’re not going to stick with it, then in all honesty, it’s not a good workout program for you.  You need to listen to your body.  Your program should challenge you, not knock you on your butt for days.  You may have a body part you’re trying to target.  That’s ok, but don’t neglect the rest of your body.  You still want to find time to work the rest of your body out.  I have my program broken down into a lower body day, an upper body day, and an ab day.  I do cardio twice a week and yoga once.  Those numbers are flexible and can be changed to meet different goals.  Also, like I said, listen to your body.

I’m going to share the workout program I’ve been following the last 3 weeks with you.  I’m planning to stick with it for a total of 6 weeks.  Then, I’ll mix things up again.  I really love this program, but it was made for me.  You are welcome to try it and see if it works for you.  You can also customize it to fit you better.  You can also just use it to get ideas and set up your own program.  This is an example, and that is all.

Monday:

Tuesday:

On Tuesdays, I run 2 miles as fast as I can.  It’s a short workout, but if you run it as fast as you can, you are exhausted once you are done.  It kicks my butt every time I do it, but I keep getting faster.  I don’t do this because it’s the best running workout, but because I’m actually trying to see how fast I can run 2 miles.

Wednesday:

Thursday:

Thursday is my yoga day.  I pick a Yoga With Adriene video based on how I’m feeling that day.  Sometimes, it’s hardcore, and sometimes, it’s restorative.

Friday:

Saturday:

Sunday:

On Sundays, I’ve been giving my body a rest day.  I haven’t always taken a rest day.  It’s been really nice, though, and I can see a difference.  I’m really liking it.

11 comments on “Putting Together A Workout Program

  1. ramida78
    August 11, 2015

    Oh damn, gotta step up my game.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lolettestephenson
    August 11, 2015

    I am just starting a dance exercise program. Although I look like such a nerd I love to dance.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. hjsportsed
    August 12, 2015

    I had joined a gym a while back before I moved last year. I have not rejoined a gym in my new city as of yet. I always felt out of place in the gym. Maybe I am just so used to being overweight and out of shape, I felt like I didn’t fit in. I know it was in my head because I was athletic in high school. I have to get my mind right and get my butt back to working out and eating better. Being older, the pounds aren’t just going to fall off anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      August 12, 2015

      It’s true. It is in your head, but that doesn’t change anything. I remember feeling that way when I first started going to a gym. Lately, I workout at home. I’m always busy, and I have 3 little kids. I don’t think I’d be able to workout as often or as consistently if I went to a gym. Honestly, my home gym has really taken off over the years. I’ve just continued adding to it over time. If you don’t feel comfortable going to a gym, there’s a few options. You can sign up with a friend and break the ice of going together. You could get a trainer, as they will gladly show you around and help you feel comfortable. You could workout at home, as I do. Sometimes recreation centers or YMCA’s have gyms without the huge crowds. Definitely, if you’re getting older and are carrying extra weight, finding something that you don’t mind doing that helps you keep active will add to your quality of life. You could always start with walking. Pick up the pace as your able. You might find yourself jogging, or even running if you really stick with it. You never know!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. EraMe
    August 12, 2015

    What or who made you start this workout?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      August 12, 2015

      Well, I work out regularly. I put together my own programs most of the time now. Sometimes, I follow someone else’s program. I’ve learned a lot having had a trainer for 2 years when I first started working out. I made it a point to ask a lot of questions. I also read a lot. I’m also lucky enough to have people in my life I can turn to for guidance with my workouts. I actually put this program together in the case that I could maybe get back into the army. They have a dietic student program that I would love to get into. Unfortunately, with a severe peanut allergy, celiac disease, and 3 kids with a husband already serving, I would require so many waivers. It’s really a slim to none chance. However, I will be ready to nail that PT test in the case that they do let me in.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Purpose | Relations - Retention

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2015 by in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , .
