Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Paleo AIP Creamy, Chunky, Mushroom Soup

aip mushroom soup

Normally, I post my recipes in separate pages from my blog posts.  I was advised to move the recipes over to the blog posts so that those who follow the blog are notified when a new recipe posts.  A lot of people have missed a ton of recipes just because they didn’t know they were posted.  To avoid moving everything over, I was trying to do a periodic recipe recap, but I was told it’d be better if I just move everything over.  If you do follow the blog, you’ll notice that I’ll be re-posting some of my existing recipes.  As I move the existing recipes over to blog posts, to keep everything together, followers will be notified.  To avoid overloading everyone with notifications, I’ll only move 1-2 of the existing recipes each day.

Ok, so today’s recipe is a new one.  I have had to be more frugal than ever before.  We’ve had a rough year.  This recipe is frugal, but it’s super hearty.  It really fills you up.  My 7 year-old vegetarian asked me to make it vegetarian so he could eat it with the rest of us.  I was surprised that my 9 year-old enjoyed it so much, as he usually does not care for mushrooms or sweet potatoes.  He actually said it was really good!  I was amazed!

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp coconut oil

5 cloves garlic, chopped

1-1/2 cups broth (bone or store-bought will work, I used vegetarian)

2 avocadoes

1 Tbsp lemon juice

1-1/2 cups coconut milk

8 stalks celery, chopped

7 mushrooms, chopped

1 sweet potato, chopped

1 tsp salt

1 tsp tarragon

1 tsp oregano

Directions: Toast garlic in coconut oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Combine toasted garlic, broth, avocados, lemon juice, and coconut milk in a blender.  Puree until smooth.  Pour puree into a medium-sized saucepan over medium heat (I used the same saucepan I toasted the garlic in).  Add the celery, mushrooms, and sweet potato.  Add the salt, tarragon, and the oregano.  Lower the heat and allow the soup to simmer for 30 minutes before serving.  Enjoy!

7 comments on “Paleo AIP Creamy, Chunky, Mushroom Soup

  1. amanpan
    September 20, 2015

    Hmmm, I bet this is delicious. Perfect for the upcoming cooler weather.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      September 20, 2015

      Thank you! Soups are also a great way to stretch the dollar. With Halloween costumes to buy, and the holidays that follow, I try to make every dollar count.

      Liked by 1 person

      • amanpan
        September 20, 2015

        I love soups and stews and they are a great way to stretch the dollar. I love this time of the year, with Halloween and the holidays approaching.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ranu802
    September 20, 2015

    Thank you for the recipe.I will get the ingredients, I’d love to try it. 🙂

    Like

  3. Sarah's Attic of Treasures
    September 23, 2015

    This looks wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
