Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Sam’s Paleo Molasses Cookies

I can see that my blog is going to evolve a bit as I continue publishing my recipes as posts rather than static pages.  Be patient with me as I find my new rhythm.  It’s been a tough, busy time.

My husband is in the field, which leaves me playing the role of mom and dad while he’s away.  It’s never fun, always a lot more work, and stress, but we get through.  Of course, on the day I needed to grocery shop, Adam got sick.  A lot of people might have ordered pizza or Chinese, but that’s just not the way we eat.  Adam’s just as passionate about eating healthy as I am.  It’s adorable because he’s only 7.  Anyhow,  we got him bundled up in some cozy clothes and made our way to the store.  Unfortunately, if you wait until it’s convenient to eat healthy, you can wait an awfully long time.

adam sick

I can’t help but be proud of all of my little guys.  Just this morning, before turning our gym into some crazy, cool obstacle course, Sam decided he wanted to make paleo cookies for after school treats.  We ended up making molasses cookies.  My mom asked me to come up with a good molasses cookie recipe almost a year ago.  It was actually one of my first requests.  I gave it a couple tries, but I wasn’t happy.  My grandma used to make the best molasses cookies, but hers were full of gluten.  I wanted to make a paleo version, but have them come out just like hers.  I really loved the ones Sam and I made today.  They were so good!  I say were because they got gobbled up within 10 minutes of the boys getting home from school.  They’re not overly sweet, they’re soft, and you can actually roll them out and use cookie cutters.

sam's cookies

Ingredients:

1 egg

1/2 cup almond flour

1/2 cup coconut flour

2 Tbsp coconut oil

1/4 cup molasses

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

Directions:  Preheat oven to 300′ and line cookie sheet with parchment paper or a little oil.  Combine all ingredients in a medium-size mixing bowl.  I ended up using my hands to knead the cookie dough into a ball.  Roll the dough out on parchment paper until it is 1/8″-1/4″ thick.  Use cookie cutters to make shapes and lay on pan.  If you don’t want to do cookie cutters, you could roll the dough into a log shape and slice it into cookies, as well.  Bake cookies for about 10 minutes.

4 comments on “Sam’s Paleo Molasses Cookies

  1. Maddy at Home
    September 23, 2015

    They look really yummy, and all the more so because of his cute little smile, not to mention his even cuter little feet!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen
    September 24, 2015

    Those did look yummy. Not surprised they went quickly

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      September 24, 2015

      That one was for you. I was really bummed they went so quickly, to be honest. I thought I’d get more, but the boys ate them too quickly.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
