Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Paleo Honey Almond Cake-Like Brownies

browniesIt’s been a long week.  With my husband out in the field, things have been more stressful.  It’s been a little exhausting.  I started out the week with myself and one of my kiddos sick.  Of course, as I’ve mentioned before, money is tight, to top it all off.  I’ve been dragging, and I’ve been hurting.  I actually opted to swap two resistance training/weight days for yoga days.  I needed the stretching, the rejuvenation, and the moments for myself.  It was definitely beneficial and with that, I was actually able to keep up on my kickboxing which was awesome!  Somehow, as different in practice and intensity as yoga and kickboxing are, they both provide incredible stress relief.

Anyway, after a long hard week, my boys and are looking forward to flying to Utah this weekend for my sister’s wedding.  Wahoo!  Yes, there is a light at the end of the tunnel.  To top it off, my husband will get home the day after we do.  Yeah, Baby!  That makes me happy.  Between the budget and the fact that we’re leaving town, we’ve made a point on not stocking the fridge and pantry.  At this point, it’s getting pretty bare.  The boys were saying we didn’t have anything good left, so I surprised them with brownies.  I hate to toot my own horn, but I have a serious talent of being able to create something, even when it seems there’s nothing left.

I pulled out what I had and made brownies.  The boys were so happy.  These brownies are made with an  almond base, and are sweetened with honey.  You don’t really taste the honey or the almonds, though I used chunky almond butter which we all loved.  No one would guess that these brownies were a whole food based, clean-eating recipe.

Ingredients:

1 cup almond meal

1/4 cup almond butter (I used chunky)

1/4 cup cocoa

3 eggs

3 Tbsp butter (I’m loving KerryGold.  It’s grassfed and not too pricey)

1/3 cup honey (I used raw, but technically, you’re going to bake it, so any will work)

1 tsp baking soda

Directions:  Preheat oven to 350′ and grease an 8″x8″ pan.  In a mixing bowl, combine the almond meal, almond butter, cocoa, and eggs.  I used my electric hand mixer to get things mixed.  Add the butter, honey and baking soda.  I used the hand mixer until everything was thoroughly mixed, again.  The batter is somewhat thick.  Pour it into prepared pan and bake for 28 minutes.  Enjoy!

2 comments on “Paleo Honey Almond Cake-Like Brownies

  1. ranu802
    October 2, 2015

    This is a nice recipe, Mireille. Your sons must have loved eating the brownies. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      October 8, 2015

      They really did. It was great because there wasn’t much food in the house since we were going out of town, but I managed to throw those together, and was thrilled that the boys loved them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
