Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Healthy Halloween Fun

Healthy Halloween

I love getting festive.  I think it’s fun to celebrate holidays beginning practically a month in advance.  Besides prepping Halloween costumes, I’ve been searching Pinterest for some fun Halloween food ideas that didn’t involve candy.  Don’t get me wrong.  My kids do trick-or-treat, and they do eat candy.  I actually did a post on why I let my kids indulge in treats this past Easter.  You can check it out here, if you’d like.  However, with all of the candy they’ll be getting, I really wanted to bring Halloween fun into our food in a more nutritious way.  Besides, Sam’s birthday is coming up, so it’s not like they’ll be hurting for treats.

Anyway, I did some searching on Pinterest, and I was inspired to make all of the foods featured in the collage, above.  None of the ideas were originally my own, but I saw the pictures and made them my way for tonight’s dinner.  I’ll give you a quick run-down on what I did for each thing.

mandarin pumpkins

My kids love mandarin oranges, and these were super easy.  The main thing I watch for is that they are not soaking in corn syrup of any kind.  They come in handy for school lunches, snacks, or in tonight’s case – dessert.  I didn’t have a black sharpie for the faces, and a pen just wasn’t cutting it.  I actually used black acrylic paint.  You could also glue on black paper or fabric cut-outs.  Work with what you have.  As you can see, I’m no artist, but you can still tell they are little jack-o-lanterns.  The kids were thrilled.

juice boxes

This was another easy crowd pleaser.  I very rarely buy juice of any kind.  I’m all about the whole fruit.  However, I saw this and thought it’d be fun.  I bought some juice boxes for it.  The main thing I look for is that there’s no added sweeteners, no artificial colors, and no artificial colors.  Just fruit juice.  The picture I’d found used gauze to wrap the juice box up like a mummy.  I didn’t have gauze, so I used masking tape.  I then glued on some googly eyeballs.  They were a hit!

Halloween food

This was dinner.  It was awesome.  Delicious and fun!  The sausage fingers were just sausages (I used Aidell’s Chicken & Apple as it’s all-natural and gluten-free) with a chunk cut out of the tip for the nail, and slits cut in for knuckles.  After baking the sausages, we added some mustard before sticking on a piece of onion for the nail.  When you stick the onion nail on, the mustard sort of oozes out in a grotesque sort of Halloween fun way.  We then added an organic, natural ketchup (you can use homemade) for some bloody effects.  In place of hot dog buns, I used lettuce wraps.

For the salad-stuffed orange jack-o-lanterns, I hollowed out oranges using a grapefruit spoon.  I pureed everything a pulled out and froze it in my ice cube trays to use for smoothies later this week.  Who knows, I may use it for other things, as well.  Once the oranges were hollowed out, I carefully carved out jack-o-lantern faces with a knife.  I then stuffed them with mixed salad greens.  I made my own dressing, which was amazing!  I then topped the salad with my own olive spider.  I sliced an olive in half to make the body, and sliced the other half lengthwise several times to create the legs.

Dressing Ingredients:

2 Tbsp orange juice (from the oranges)

3 Tbsp avocado oil

1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

1/8 tsp ginger

1/8 tsp salt

Directions: Blend all ingredients in a blender.  Pour over salad.

As you can see, Halloween is not necessarily all about candy.  You can actually have a lot of fun with some nutritious foods.  A green smoothie, for example, could be a ghoulish brew for a get-together with friends.  Hopefully, I’ll have some more spooky suppers to share as the holiday approaches.

One comment on “Healthy Halloween Fun

  1. Pingback: Paleo Autumn Harvest Stuffed Pumpkin | Mireille's Journey To Health

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2015 by in Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
