Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

A Paleo Ghoulish Corpse Dinner – Seasoned Ribs

Yesterday, I wrote a little bit about how Pinterest inspires me with a lot of great ideas.  This evening, I was going through my “Healthy Treats” board.  I’ve had my Pinterest account for about 4 years now.  My “Healthy Treats” board is pretty huge.  It had about a thousand pins on it.  I figured since finding out I have celiac this past year, I should go through and delete things that I’d pinned that I wont be able to eat anymore.  I must say, looking at the evolution of my “Healthy Treats” board in just these last 4 years was very interesting.  One could definitely see how it’s been an ever-evolving journey.

When I first started my “Healthy Treats” board, the focus was clearly on macro-nutrients.  My initial pins were of things that are low-carb.  The emphasis was all on protein.  There were a lot of protein desserts, using protein powder and stevia.  I had quite a few pins of that nature.  It’s funny because now, I don’t use any protein powder.  I also had a ton of recipes pinned that turned Quest bars into fun desserts.  Though gluten-free, Quest bars are so, so very processed.  I prefer whole foods.  I also don’t hide behind stevia to satisfy my sugar cravings.  I go for real, natural sugars, like maple syrup, honey, dates, and sometimes coconut sugar.  Oh, and molasses, too.  Stevia is not the best for gut health, and can also be a hormone disruptor.  Macro-nutrients are just a portion of the picture.  Micro-nutrients are at least as important.

The other phase I apparently went through was a quinoa phase.  I remember when quinoa first got real big.  It is nutritious if you are able to eat it, but I’ve found that I feel best when I keep my grains to a minimum.  Not everything nutritious is good for everyone, and everyone shouldn’t eat something just because it’s said to be nutritious.  Our bodies are all very different.

Anyway, here I go yapping on and on about my “Healthy Treats” board.  Actually, what initially had me on Pinterest today was Halloween dinner inspiration.  My family has been having so much fun with these festive meals…

Rib corpse

We decided to make a portion of a corpse, using roasted cauliflower for the head, and slow-cooked ribs for, well, the ribs.  I am definitely having way to much fun this Halloween season!  So for the head, my husband and I attempted to carve out a bit of a skull.  We used black olives to darken up the eyes and nose.  Clearly, we are not artists, but you can kind of see it, I think… I hope.  I rubbed a little melted butter on it, and baked it at 350′ for 30 minutes.  For the ribs, I put my 9 year-old, Ben to work on a seasoning blend.  This seems to be a talent of his.  He sits and smells all of the seasonings, smells the blend, and tastes it from time to time.  The outcome is always amazing.  He and I worked together on the seasoning blend for the ribs.

Ingredients:

1 large rack of ribs

3 Tbsp coconut flour

4 bay leaves

1 tsp chili powder

1 tsp tarragon

1-1/2 tsp turmeric

4 Tbsp coconut sugar

4 tsp salt

1 tsp red pepper

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground mustard

1 tsp ginger

1/4 cup maple syrup

Directions: Prepare ribs a day in advance for best results.  Blend the coconut flour, bay leaves, chili powder, tarragon, turmeric, coconut sugar, salt, red pepper, cinnamon, ground mustard, and ginger until thoroughly blended.  Rub spice blend all over ribs.  Cover ribs and store in the refrigerator for 24 hours.  Preheat oven to 275′ and bake, meat side down, fat side up, for 4 hours, covered over with foil.  After 4 hours, remove foil, flip ribs so the meat side is up, drizzle ribs with maple syrup, and bake an additional 30 minutes, uncovered.  The meat will literally fall off the bone, so be careful arranging your corpse.  Enjoy!

3 comments on “A Paleo Ghoulish Corpse Dinner – Seasoned Ribs

  1. amanpan
    October 12, 2015

    Now, this is unique! 🎃 🎃 🎃 Great Idea and I bet it is yummy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Paleo Autumn Harvest Stuffed Pumpkin | Mireille's Journey To Health

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2015 by in Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , .
