Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Paleo Small “Cheddar” Pear Cobbler

pear cobblerIt was my little Sam’s birthday today.  He turned 5.  He’d chosen a cake that was not paleo, and not even gluten-free.  I was ok with that.  After all, it was his birthday.  He’s a healthy little guy, and I don’t restrict my boys from any foods.  I simply try to encourage a mindfulness.  I teach them that some things can be eaten more freely, and some things are meant to be treats.  They have a pretty good grasp, so when he chose his cake, I didn’t try to talk him out of it.  I simply made my own dessert to enjoy at birthday cake time so I wouldn’t be left out.

I have a bunch of pears.  They’re such a good price this time of year.  I really wanted to make something with them.  I’d had this cheddar pear pie several years ago.  It was amazing.  So amazing, I still remember it!  I thought something like that sounded good.  I happened to have nutritional yeast on hand.  Nutritional yeast is great for giving things a cheesy flavor.  I hadn’t tried it in a dessert before.  It was a little risky.  Luckily, it paid off.  I ended up making a pear cobbler, with a cheddary-maple sauce syrup and used a spin-off of my English muffin bread recipe to top it.  It was soooo good!

Ingredients:

1 pear

3 Tbsp + 1 Tbsp full-fat coconut milk, separated

3 Tbsp + 1 Tbsp maple syrup

2 Tbsp butter

1/2 Tbsp nutritional yeast

1/2 Tbsp lemon juice

2 Tbsp coconut flour

2 eggs

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions: Preheat oven to 350′.  Chop pear into bite-size pieces and place in a 6″ round cake pan.  Combine 3 Tbsp coconut milk, 3 Tbsp maple syrup, butter, nutritional yeast, and lemon juice in a small saucepan.  Heat just long enough that butter melts and you’re able to thoroughly mix ingredients.  No need to boil.  Pour syrup mixture over chopped pear.  In a small bowl, combine the coconut flour, eggs, 1 Tbsp coconut milk, baking soda, 1 Tbsp maple syrup, and cinnamon.  Mix well.  Pour batter over chopped pears and syrup.  Bake for 25 minutes.  Allow to cool slightly before serving.  Enjoy!

2 comments on “Paleo Small “Cheddar” Pear Cobbler

  1. ranu802
    October 16, 2015

    Thank you for this recipe, Mireille! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .
