Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Paleo Creamy Carrot Breakfast Pudding

Creamy Carrot Pudding

I am so grateful I opened up and shared what has been going on with my health.  Because I opened up and shared, someone very kind and supportive pointed me in the direction of Dr. Wahls Protocol.  Dr. Wahls is a medical doctor who was diagnosed with M.S. and found herself in a tilt-recline wheelchair.  Fearing that she would soon be bed-ridden, she began exploring the functional side of medicine and experimented on herself.  She developed a nutrient-rich, whole-foods dietary protocol.  Through this protocol, she has been able to regain a great deal of her quality of life back.  In fact, she currently rides her bike to and from work each day.  Pretty impressive!

While my doctors don’t seem to think I have M.S. at this point (they’re considering a lot of different possibilities, but I don’t believe M.S. is high on the list of possibilities), Dr. Wahls Protocol is designed to nourish the mitochondria to help stop, or at the very least, to slow atrophy of the brain.  In creating the protocol, she researched ways to slow brain atrophy, as well as to nourish and heal those with autoimmune diseases.

Having celiac disease, and now dealing with the atrophy of my cerebellum, I was so excited to learn of Dr. Wahls Protocol.  In fact, I purchased the ebook version from Amazon the very night I’d learned about it.  It’s only $9.99!  In the book, she shares her story, how she researched and developed the protocol, as well as three different levels of the protocol.  There’s a basic version, a slightly stricter version, which offers more healing, and an even stricter version that offers the greatest healing.

I like to ease into dietary changes.  I think it’s easier for both my mind and my body.  Right now I’m working on increasing my veggie intake.  Through the different levels of Dr. Wahls Protocol, she is very adamant about veggie intake.  In the two lower levels, she asks that you eat 9 cups of veggies each day (it’s actually less in the highest level, but at that level it’s also higher fat).  The 9 cups are broken down into 3 cups of greens, 3 cups of sulfur-rich, and 3 cups of colors.  For more details on that, I’ll let you check out her book.  You can buy it, here.

As I’ve been pushing myself to eat more veggies, I came up with this carrot pudding recipe.  It may sound weird.  Yes, it tastes like carrots, but in a really, really good way.  I’ll be honest, I wish I could have it breakfast, lunch and dinner.  It’s delicious, and it has the characteristics of a comfort food.  It is a bit of a pain to make.  You do have to plan ahead.  It’s an overnight pudding.  I make mine at night, and the following morning my breakfast is ready and waiting on me.  Dr. Wahls Suggests eating starchier vegetables raw, and it actually really works wonderfully in this recipe.  I just grate mine very finely.  Anyway, let me share this recipe with you.  It’s a great way to start your day with some raw veggies.

carrot pudding

Carrot Breakfast Pudding:

2 carrots finely grated

1 Tbsp chopped dates

1/8 Tbsp walnuts

3/4 cup full-fat coconut milk

Additional non-dairy milk (optional)

Directions: Grate 2 carrots into a bowl using a fine grater.  In a blender or food processer, combine the dates and the walnuts.  Blend until broken up, but still a little chunky.  Pour broken up dates and walnuts over grated carrots.  Pour full-fat coconut milk on top.  Cover, and refrigerate overnight.  In the morning, if you wish to add more non-dairy milk, you may.

8 comments on “Paleo Creamy Carrot Breakfast Pudding

  1. jdjung
    November 2, 2015

    Actually it looks delicious. Personally I love veggies and ate loads of them until I had part of my colon removed . Now I have to watch my vegetable intake 😂I hope they figure out what’s wrong with your health soon

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      November 8, 2015

      Thank you so much! I’m sorry to hear about your colon. I can only imagine the impact that has had on not only your diet, but your entire life!

      Like

  2. ranu802
    November 2, 2015

    Thank you Mireille.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. amanpan
    November 2, 2015

    I love veggies. I eat a lot of salads. Your recipes are always so healthy and look yummy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      November 8, 2015

      That’s awesome because that is what your body needs. I didn’t always eat this way. As a kid, I would never have imagined myself eating so many veggies. I think it’s a combination of my taste buds maturing and just knowing more about nutritional value.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: Motivation Transformation | Mireille's Journey To Health

  5. Ami M. Lee
    November 9, 2015

    I realized that I bought an extra bag of carrots this week and now I know just what to do with it! Plus..I might could get my kids involved with it as well. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 1, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
