Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Make Vegetables The Main Course

vegetables

Hey everyone!  I’m sorry I’m in and out, lately.  If you’ve been following the blog, then you’re aware I’m going through some things.  My cerebellum is atrophying, and I’ve been reading Dr. Wahls Protocol in hopes that with her guidance, I can slow or even halt the atrophy in its tracks.  I’ve been pushing my veggies like crazy!  I’ll share some more recipes soon, I’ve been adjusting to my dietary changes and getting myself grounded with it.  You have to understand, when I started my blog, I was settled into and comfortable with my diet.  It’s a little trickier to share with others what you are still sorting out for yourself.  I will continue to post, though, as it may help someone else, and I definitely think it helps me.

After my last post, it was mentioned that I talk about veggies an awful lot, lately.  I do.  It’s true.  I’m kind of counting on them to heal my body, so I can’t help but eat a lot of them, talk about them, and heck, I have honestly even had a dream or two about them.  How am I expecting veggies to heal my body (particularly my brain)?  Well, veggies are loaded with micronutrients.  I’m sure you’re aware of vitamins and minerals.  There are so many essential vitamins and minerals, meaning vitamins and minerals that our bodies need, but that they can’t produce.  We need to consume these vitamins and minerals.

I worked at a supplement store a while back, and we used to use a sales pitch, that hey, if you don’t eat enough fruits and vegetables, here’s a great vitamin.  Ok, so, it was a slightly better pitch than that, but that was the basic gist of it.  What a terrible sales pitch that was!  What a terrible idea we were promoting!  Don’t get me wrong, I do believe in vitamin and mineral supplements.  In fact, I take a few myself.  So, what’s my issue with relying on supplements?  Let me explain.

Let’s have a quick history lesson…

In 1906, Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins discovered that there were elements in food that were good for health.

In 1912, Cashmir Funk, named those elements vitamines (yes, there was originally an “e” on the end).  Hopkins and Funk believed a lack of vitamins could make a person ill.

Vitamin A was discovered between 1912 and 1914.

The B complex was discovered between 1912 and 1948 (B1 was discovered in 1912, B2 in 1926, Niacin in 1937, Folic Acid in 1933, B6 in 1934, Biotin in 1916, and B12 in 1948).

Vitamin C was technically discovered in 1747, for it’s ability to prevent scurvy.  However, it was rediscovered as a “vitamin” in 1912.

Vitamin D & E were discovered in 1922.

Vitamin K was discovered in 1929.

Essential minerals were discovered sporadically, as well, beginning in the 1850’s, with iron.  Copper came about 10 years later.  Around the turn of the century, came zinc.

Antioxidants were first discovered in 1954, with many more recently discovered.

… and so many more nutrients are still being discovered!!!

Ok, so the point of my quick and only semi-thorough history of nutrients is that we are still discovering essential nutrients.  Sure, you could buy a supplement  enriched with ample amounts of all of the essential vitamins, minerals, and even antioxidants that have been discovered.  However, you can’t get a supplement enriched with all that hasn’t been discovered.  Mother nature, knows what is needed and she is already providing it.  You just have to eat real food to get it all.  You can’t depend on supplements.

Yes, as mentioned earlier, I do take some supplements.  I consider them insurance, as I have celiac, which can cause absorption issues.  Also, it’s insurance in case my fruit and vegetable variety isn’t spot on.  Still, I aim high with my vegetables and fruits, as well, as that is where I know I can get the most nutrition.  Oh, I should add that to do that, I also eat the skin whenever possible, as that is the most nutritious part.  Real food comes with the real enzymes for better absorption.  Real food comes with a better nutritional guarantee.

I don’t watch much TV, but occasionally, I enjoy the food network.  I love this quote from Bobby Flay, “Go vegetable heavy.  Reverse the psychology of your plate by making meat the side dish and vegetables the main course.”

http://www.vitamins-nutrition.org/vitamins/history-vitamins.html

http://www.antioxidants-for-health-and-longevity.com/what-are-antioxidants.html

6 comments on “Make Vegetables The Main Course

  1. ranu802
    November 14, 2015

    Dear Mireille thank you for this post, which you have written about the vegetables. I hope and pray you will get better and healthier, as you make sure of eating the right foods. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Siim Land
    November 14, 2015

    Vegetables are awesome. We can never go wrong with some cauliflower or brocolli.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. amanpan
    November 16, 2015

    Thank you for the info and goo health to you. 😊😊😊 🌷🌷🌷

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2015 by in Nutrition and tagged , , , , .
