Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Paleo Doritos For Disneyland, Plus Other Yummy Snacks

Our family is getting ready for our first trip to Disneyland.  Of course, with all of the fun and excitement comes a bit of stress and anxiety about the food options.  I’ve read many, many blogs about how accommodating the Disneyland parks are when it comes to dietary restrictions.  I called in our reservations early on.  I have us set to eat at the Blue Bayou, Carthay Circle, and Goofy’s Kitchen.  I only made dinner reservations because we plan to eat breakfast at the resort we’ll be staying at.  We will be packing our own snacks and lunch to bring to the park, though, we may try a couple of snacks from the park, depending upon what options we come across.

trip snacks

I’ve been putting together some snacks in preparation for the trip, so I’m not cramming at the last minute.  Not only will we need snacks for in the park, but also for on the way there, and after 3 days at Disneyland, we’ll be meeting up with my parents in Oceanside for 4 days.  Then, of course there is the drive back.  Obviously, we’ll need plenty of snacks, but luckily, there will be grocery stores at both destinations.  So far, my stash includes some Vermont beef sticks (no antibiotics, no hormones, vegetarian fed, and gluten-free), Krave beef jerky (all-natural, no nitrates, and gluten-free), GoGo Squeez applesauce, Mediterra bars (all-natural, non-GMO, gluten-free), and homemade paleo Doritos.  I am so excited about the homemade paleo Doritos!

How did these awesome paleo Doritos come to be?  Well, I really wanted to make some type of cracker/chip type of snack for the trip.  I decided I was going to use the dehydrator.  I pulled out some veggies and it all just came together.  Literally.  When they were finished, I tried one and could not believe how good it was!  I had my oldest try them and he immediately tried to grab more.  I had my husband try them and he was surprised how good they were. I had my two younger boys try them, and they wanted to eat them all! I honestly can’t wait til we leave so I can eat them!

Paleo Doritos

Alright, so enough talk about my ah-mazing paleo Doritos, let me tell you how to make your own.  It takes a tad bit of work, but it is oh so worth it!

Ingredients:

1 cup finely grated sweet potato

1 cup finely grated cauliflower

1 cup shredded carrots

2 finely grated radishes

1 finely chopped garlic clove

1 pureed red pepper

1/2 cup applesauce

1/2 cup pepitas (pumpkin seeds with the shell removed)

1/4 cup chia seeds

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 Tbsp nutritional yeast

Directions: Combine all ingredients in a medium-size mixing bowl.  Knead mixture with your hands until thoroughly mixed.  Depending on your dehydrator trays, you may need to lay down some parchment paper before spreading the mixture on.  I did.  My dehydrator trays have large holes, so I almost always need to lay down parchment paper.  If your trays have a mesh with smaller holes or are solid, you may not need to.  Anyway, once your trays are ready, pour the mixture on.  Use your hand to spread it til it is thin.  I allowed mine to dehydrate overnight.  It was about 12 hours. Feel free to check yours sooner, but make sure they are completely crisp before turning off your dehydrator.  Once crisp, you can remove them from the dehydrator and break them into chip-size pieces. Enjoy!

2 comments on “Paleo Doritos For Disneyland, Plus Other Yummy Snacks

  1. ranu802
    February 28, 2016

    thank you for this recipe,Mireille. 🙂

    Like

  2. amanpan
    February 29, 2016

    Your snacks look yummy and have a great time at Disneyland.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2016 by in Healthy Travels, Nutrition, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Navigation

