Mireille's Journey To Health

REAL, FRUGAL, HEALTHY, and FUN!!!

Finding Facebook Community Support For Your Health

facebook.jpg

Just a few weeks ago, one of my sisters called me and asked my opinion about her daughter’s scoliosis.  Not that I’m a scoliosis expert or anything, but she was trying to make a big decision as far as treatment and just wanted the opinion of others.  They were at the point where something needed to be done soon, and either way it would be a commitment of time and money.  She was trying to decide how to proceed.  I told her that my best advice was to go on Facebook and do a search for, “scoliosis community.”

I absolutely love Facebook community’s.  They can be an awesome support system.  My all-time favorite is The Paleo Approach Community.  It’s a community of about 40,000.  People post recipes that would make a non-paleo person hungry.  You wouldn’t believe how creative and brilliant some people are.  There’s also a lot of medical and emotional support.  Obviously, as I told my sister when I recommended the scoliosis community’s, these are not necessarily doctors.  You do have to use logic and common sense, and it doesn’t take too long to figure out who is knowledgeable and worth listening to, and who is not.  These are real people, with real experiences.  Always keep in mind that they are sharing with you what worked for them, what didn’t work for them, and things they’ve heard or read about.  You of course can do some further research on your own and consult with your doctor.

Another community I love, and have referred my sister, as well as my sister-in-law to is the Gluten Free Families Community.  Though, I primarily eat paleo, occasionally I’ll have something that isn’t paleo, but is still gluten-free.  This community is constantly sharing what is yummy and what is not.  They’re also a great place to ask a question if you’re not sure if something is gluten-free.  This can be especially useful with things like condiments, beverages, supplements, and medications, where it’s not always obvious.  You get an answer pretty quick.  You can also get a lot of emotional support, as sometimes it’s hard to be the only one who can’t eat something.

I’m also a huge fan of Deliciously Dairy Free.  In fact, I referred another one of my sisters to this group just this past week.  Dairy seems to bring on asthma flares for her, so she’s trying to get away from it.  In fact, just yesterday, she posted a question about whether or not a product was dairy-free.  Within 20 minutes, she had an answer.  They’re very similar to the gluten-free families community, in that they share foods, answer questions, and provide emotional support.  Throughout the month of October, it was neat to see everyone supporting The Teal Pumpkin Project and sharing some non-food treat ideas.

I’ve found so many other communities which have been so supportive on my journey to healthy leaving.  With regards to supplements, I’ve found Facebook communities based on magnesium, copper, turmeric, and so much more.  I’ve found Facebook communities based on kombucha and fermenting.  I’ve found Facebook communities based on neurological disorders.  There are so many communities.  If you suffer from asthma, you can search, “asthma communities.”  If you have Lyme disease, you can search, “Lyme communities.”  Anytime you need support, just go on there and search for it.

I will give fair warning.  The larger the community, the more information and the more support.  You also, however, get more differing opinions.  Most of the time the differing of opinions is played out constructively, but occasionally, it gets a little catty, rude, and downright disrespectful.  I would ask that you not become a part of that.  Please, please, please, feel free to add constructive comments, ask questions, and scroll past anything that doesn’t support the good of the community.  You don’t have to have the last word.  Nobody cares who makes the last comment, so don’t feel the need to have the last word.  One really cool thing about social media is that you can scroll past the negative and focus on the positive.

Like I said earlier, these are supportive communities.  They do not replace doctors.  However, you can tell them when things are tough.  You can ask people about the treatment plans your doctor is recommending and learn about their personal experiences.  You can also get some great meal ideas.  It’s a great way to find support from people in similar situations.  Oh, and I’d like to add that to get the most out of these supportive Facebook communities, be an active community member.  If you have something to share, share it.  You don’t have to try and answer questions you aren’t sure about, but you’ll find times where you have something to contribute and I would recommend that you do so.  Become an active member and you’ll feel so much more supported on your journey.

If you have a favorite Facebook community that supports your healthy living journey, please share it in the comments, as you probably don’t realize how many people may find support through that same community.

5 comments on “Finding Facebook Community Support For Your Health

  1. ranu802
    November 23, 2015

    It’s a good idea.

    Like

  2. lovingmypancreas
    November 23, 2015

    Thank you, I had no idea that there were such a range of communities on FB.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. amanpan
    November 30, 2015

    Facebook is a great tool, if used wisely. I am glad you are finding it useful for your needs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mireillesjourneytohealth
      November 30, 2015

      Yes, it can be good and it can be bad, but I think it’s up to the user to determine what pages to follow, what communities and groups to be a part of, and who to be friends with.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 23, 2015 by in Healthy Living, Motivation/Inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .